Routines and Organization

Kirsten Byman
Organization as a Key to Sucess
2 min readSep 29, 2017

This week I read Noah Kagen’s blog post,” How to Stay Organized as your Business Grows.” In this post, he had some great tips to staying organized that I found very helpful, not just in a business setting, but anywhere.

One of his tips was to stay focused. This really stuck out to me because if you are not focused you will not be able to get what you need to do done. Creating “to do” lists or other notes and reminders are good ways to keep on task. Kagen talks about only having one goal at a time and this is where I disagree. In business, his plan might work, but for life it needs to be rethought a little bit. Sometimes in a busy life you have a lot going on and need to have more than one goal, but as long as you are able to organize yourself, you will be able to work on managing these things together. I think a better way is to split your life into categories such as, school, work, social and other things, and then focus on one of those categories. It is hard to split them any smaller than that because you might not be able to accomplish all that is necessary.

A quote I found particularly interesting was, “the key is to build a routine and systemize as much as you can.” I liked this because it’s very true. I notice that especially when I am coming back to school in the first couple weeks it is very hectic, but once I am able to collect everything I need for my classes and settle into the new semesters routine, it all becomes easier. Routines and organization work together because without being organized you cannot have a good routine.

I have been working on creating a schedule for my classes to make sure that I am getting my work done this week and throughout the rest of the semester. I have never liked using a written planner and instead I prefer writing what I need to complete in the notes file on my computer or phone and having it sync automatically, so I always have it with me.

Kagen, N. (2017, April 24). How to stay organized as your business grows [Web log post]. Retrieved September 25, 2017, from https://medium.com/the-mission/how-to-stay-organized-as-your-business-grows-e7c0469fbee2

--

--