--

“Tell me about yourself”(Week-10)

“Tell Me about yourself” is one the most intimidated question till now for some individuals in this world. Sometimes it’s really hard for me to answer the above question especially when it is a sudden question. According to me the answer varies as per the scenarios. Because it is such a question which makes me think about things I have accomplished and mostly it is about my identity. I am always afraid to answer such questions because somethings I say will be considered made up and people won’t believe me. It is really important to tailor your answers for same questions in different scenarios.

If we take an example of a job interview scenario in which I should not tell employer or recruiter about Who Am I? Where I Came from? Or what is my hobby? They just want to know that how I can be the one who can help their company to reach new heights using my strengths. But here is the problem which I faced, as a personal experience I went for interviews for many companies and when they ask me the question about myself, I always get stuck. Even though I give answer regarding my achievements and my skills, I always feels like I have missed something. I want to ask a question to group about overcoming my fear and my anxiety. So what you all think about becoming a pro to face such question especially for interview scenario?

Second scenario is about school first day. I have introduced myself many times in front of class, but still I hate it when professor tells me to introduce myself in front of class. But now I understood one thing after giving so many introductions that just be yourself especially when you are giving a self-introduction in front of class. We don’t have to make up things like we do for interviews to woo our recruiter. For such scenario I have started following a pattern, firstly I tell my name, as I am an international student I tell where I am from and I tell about one exciting thing I did before coming to school. This helped me to gain my confidence and it helped me to connect to people. One most important thing I forget to tell is about eye contact. It is the most important thing in conversations and it is sign of trust and truthfulness.

Last scenario I want to talk is about introducing oneself to new friends or when we go on a date. Those people comes in different category and they don’t want to hear all the things you have accomplished till now or what you have and how much you earn. They just want to know you so it is important for oneself to just open your heart and say about yourself. It is really important for one’s identity. If you say truth and if you are open for conversation. People will have a good image about your identity and they can trust you easily. I try to be that person who just want to say everything about himself to opposite person specifically when it comes to friendship and love, because it really matters to build relationship. I still can’t judge people that whether they are lying or telling truth. So I want to raise a question for everyone that how you can catch people who just fake their identity?

--

--