ORGcon 2014

Owen Blacker
ORGcon from Open Rights Group
2 min readFeb 12, 2015

--

Rapid Fire talks

Some notes from the UK’s biggest digital rights conference, this year focussing on government surveillance

Saturday, 15 November, 2014: Several hundred people interested in digital rights congregate at King’s College London’s Waterloo campus, for the Open Rights Group’s 2014 conference. I am proud to have been elected to the board of ORG in 2013, having been a founding member of the Advisory Council, so I figured I should share some of my notes from the conference.

I’ve already written about Cory Doctorow’s opening keynote, but there were many other sessions across the day. To avoid these pieces becoming too unwieldy, I’m covering individual sessions in each piece.

One of the sessions was a series of rapid-fire talks, by four different speakers, followed by a Q&A session. My notes here are of variable quality and I’ve had notes from the speakers at different times, so I’ve split these into separate write-ups:

ORGcon 2014 was generously sponsored by F-Secure and Andrews & Arnold Ltd. The Open Rights Group exists to preserve and promote your rights in the digital age; we are funded by hundreds of people like you.

--

--

Owen Blacker
ORGcon from Open Rights Group

🇪🇺🏳️‍🌈🏴󠁧󠁢󠁷󠁬󠁳󠁿♿⧖ Mainly-gay, mainly-Welsh political geek; proud social justice warrior+trans ally. @WikiLGBT, @OpenRightsGroup, ex- @mySociety. he/him