5-Step Guide to Ensure Effective & Collaborative Outsourcing

Kartik Dulloo
Orgzit
Published in
5 min readMay 30, 2017

Situation 1 — Time Mismanagement

Boss: I am yet to receive the article ID 750 from Mark. Why hasn’t he submitted it yet? I can’t push the deadline with the client because of his laid back attitude towards work.

Me: There were a lot of revisions involved. Since he is available only during weekdays, I couldn’t get back to him on such a short notice.

Time Lost. Deadline Missed. Unhappy Client. Late/No Payment.

Situation 2 — Payment Disagreements Leading to Arguments

Boss: Why are we paying $40 to Mark for only one article? His quote is more than what the client is paying us. Why didn’t you say no to his demand?

Me: He is charging more for the revised versions than the original article itself. How can I say no to him when he is submitting the work?

Boss: Just like I am saying no to your commission on this project.

Distrust Triggered. Unhealthy Work Cycle. Late/No Payment.

Though I was the intermediary between the participating parties, I could estimate the enormous exchange of mental energy in this seemingly simple transaction between a freelance content writer and the content manager.

In my years of experience (amazingly short), I have noticed that until and unless one doesn’t set up a process for doing things, there will come a time when the temporarily ‘organized’ structure will crumble into pieces and beg for a prominence.

In both situations above, (which are universally commonplace), you’ll realize that locating the root of problem is pretty easy but pretty difficult to own to.

What was required?

  1. The content manager needed to setup a ‘Content Guidelines Documents’ consisting of the specific set of instructions for content requirement, delivery and payment.
  2. The freelancer needed to exchange a similar document in the beginning to ensure smooth collaboration.

This way, there would have been a set process to do things and the journey from project execution to project completion would become easier.

But of course I didn’t realize it then.

After 3 years of working as a freelancer (at Elance, now Upwork)and being currently associated with a SaaS startup — Orgzit, where I have acquired the role of my previous boss, I think I can safely pen down a couple of pointers which can be useful while outsourcing your project from a 3rd party vendor or organization.

I am a firm believer in everything agile.

For those who aren’t familiar with the concept of how agile is continuously shaping our lives, both at work and personally, refer to this article here –

So when you ask me about my process -

Meet & Greet → Exchange Notes → Send Reminders (deadline) → Exchange Files → Payment

It is not as tough as it looks in this image

Meet and Greet

At the very onset, and before hiring some 3rd party agency or freelancer, never forget to perform a customary background check of the agency or person in question. Once satisfied with the credentials, adorn all your gallant professional ethics and send an invitation for a meeting.

In this business, there is no one glove that fits all, and you have to be doubly sure of individual freelancer/agency needs before you agree to start. Once you have touched base and the initial pleasantries have been exchanged, state your requirements.

There have been times when I find that the individual isn’t up-to mark and have to say no.

The best way to politely say ‘NO’ to someone you might have hired but didn’t?

Generic yet specific!

Exchange Notes

To increase work productivity and effectiveness, exchange a set MOU or a detailed ‘Instruction Set’ containing all project pertinent information — right from project requirements to the payment structure.

I have always worked along with my clients and vendors at each stage. Along with enhancing my understanding of their specific or custom content needs, the act helps me plan ahead and develop uniquely tailored material to sort out their purpose.

How can I keep track of all the vendors and the data being exchanged between us?

Since the time I have been using Orgzit for such project management purposes, I don’t have to worry about losing a file or get into a petty fight with my boss over revised payments. I just simply keep a record of who did what and when so that I can refer back whenever I want. So my job becomes easier to handle.

Send Reminders

While the project is a going on and a deadline is set, always remember to send a reminder to the individual/agency reminding him of the deadline.

This reminder is nothing but a precautionary measure to ensure that you have been thorough from your side in regards to the process to be followed. It also serves as an excellent self-check for the freelancer/agency while the deadline is approaching.

At Orgzit, I have been doing it with the help of automated tasks. I have been able to keep a better check on the people I am collaborating with whilst leaving behind a solid audit trail.

Exchange Files

In order to ensure that the files you are going through are not plagiarized, run a simple plagiarism test on copyscape (the paid version gives more accurate results) and ensure that all the points have been covered.

At times, some projects need multiple revisions and constant collaboration. Sending email every second of the day can become a tedious job at some point. So you wither need to have a internal communication platform setup or everything can get out of hands quite easily.

Priyaneet Singh, creative content associate for Orgzit, beautifully pens down as to how she has been using Orgzit to collaborate with clients –

If you hop in the freelancer’s shoes, it becomes quite manageable for him/her to exchange ideas and share files from a single platform. It becomes a two-way benefactor street.

Payments

Maintain a list of all the transactions made with all the freelancers/agencies (Paypal works best) and always remember to share it with them so that they can update it themselves so that you can always keep a check on false data.

Now if you think I am bragging, then be it. But Orgzit has made my life easier when it comes to expense tracking and management. This is something that I am pretty much sure of.

If you want to see how, book a demo and I will tell you how you can get all your expenses in one place.

The Bonus Tip -

Last but not the least; never skip the legalities of engagement. A legal client-vendor contract or agreement will assure you of your payments in case of any dispute. Outline all client specifications terms and conditions, rate structure, edit requirements, deadline, duration and mode of payments, and the smallest of other details in writing before proceeding. You would not like to find yourself against a stiff wall due to want of documentary evidence in due course, right?

--

--