How Can Business Leaders Take Business to next level with Orgzit

Nitin Verma
Orgzit
Published in
7 min readJul 4, 2017

With the large influx of productivity tools in the market, small and medium business owners are growing tired and restless. Tired because of the confusion created by solution-specific features, and restless because of being unable to choose which ones suits their business needs the best.

Eventually, in the perpetual fight between business “survival” and business “progress”, they find solace in buying multiple readymade solutions propelling the same ideology -

OUR SOLUTION, YOU FIT IN!

The Search for a Scalable Solution

While I was swamped with handling infrastructure projects and providing advisory services to clean technology and engineering firms, my business management process was essentially a huge disarray of information and piles of unstructured data stacked in nested folders. Although most of my data was neatly organised, I found it difficult to prioritise my information and tasks, and even more difficult to make decisions when necessary.

The inability to leverage the data that you have in an efficient way makes you feel like a rich beggar.

So I put myself to work. I scoped the task and project management tools market looking for an easy-to-use and workable solution that would bring me out of this dilemma. But all provided me with a solution that just didn’t fit the bill. I wanted to achieve three simple things -

  • Manage various types of information
  • Collaborate with distributed and disparate team members
  • Handle things in a neat and understandable way

Truthfully, I really wanted to stop using Excel and Google Sheets for managing my information and was determined on trying new tools until I found the right fit (and not one that worked great just for me but a solution that everyone in my team could really use).

Finally, I started using Trello and worked hard to bring my team on board to the presumably easiest task & information management tool. But allow me to be brutally honest with you. Within just a couple of weeks I had over 50+ colourful boards (a point where I actually contemplated creating a board to manage all my existing boards) with many of my needs still un- or under-addressed.

I stopped myself from creating another board.

For example, using Trello for collecting information from field engineers was a nightmare. The multicoloured board reference wasn’t exactly a hit with the engineers looking for structure and efficiency in their information exchange processes rather than colour coding boards to different tasks.

I even tried processing their reimbursement requests but was met with a disappointment again. However, one of the more pressing reasons as to why Trello lost a customer (me) is that despite Trello’s ability to digitize information neatly, I couldn’t easily draw any actionable insights from it.

Next, I jumped aboard the Podio wagon. I was really amazed with its simplicity as a work management tool and quickly migrated my data from Trello to more structured Podio platform.

Realization — Most task management/solutions specific tools (like Trello, Podio etc.), restrict themselves to managing tasks but do not really help manage business information or processes, which in fact is the lifeline of any organization today.

So neat!

Looks neat right?

But I came at a cul-de-sac when I tried to add some basic filtering and user access control features, which as you might have guessed already, came with the premium price tag. Since my team size was smaller as compared to Podio’s estimated feature-packed team plan, I could hardly leverage the data I had in store.

While I was happy continuing to explore Trello and Podio, I wanted to find a solution, which would get me out of this dilemma as quickly as I could.

Introducing Orgzit

One day when I received a WhatsApp text from the engineering team working on site in Gujarat with the project information and daily project construction status report, I knew it was the end of line. So I asked Pavan Verma, if we could together build a simple information capturing solution which could help me manage the team of engineers working at a remote site in Gujarat.

How did a simple idea turned into curiosity which, in turn, lead to entrepreneurship still eludes me. But it lit a spark which did not die for a year and a half, and in the process, we essentially discovered the holy grail of business management solutions, a veritable argument against the existing solutions, and of course, a super fit for my business information and processes.

Hitherto, I assumed the role of a product manager (initially), whereas Pavan became the tech genius, and together, we built a world-class product which helps businesses solve digitization problems faced in real-life, and provide them with a highly customizable and scalable solution — Orgzit.

Pavan writes about the tech advantage of Orgzit much better than me in this fabulous blog post right here -

How Orgzit Bridges The Invisible Gap Between Workplace & Productivity?

As a small and medium business owner, I can tell you that organizing your information and collaborating with your team might sound like a cakewalk, but managing tasks and information using multiple business tools for dispersed teams and constantly changing business requirements & budgets, things get messy.

Keeping the thought of disparate tools in mind, Orgzit aimed at accomplishing two things -

1. Provide businesses the freedom to customize their structure & flow of information

2. Enable users to access that information from a single place and while always being in context.

Today, I can genuinely tell you that not only I am able to handle my remote team and process their reimbursements in Orgzit, but I have taken to perform company recruitment and outsource projects using this single tool without looking back for another tool which has a new feature we need.

After all, I am able to customize it myself without any coding in Orgzit itself.

As Orgzit’s user base started growing, we realized that Orgzit is a lot more than just task management.

And this is how Orgzit took its first step towards increasing workplace productivity — by allowing businesses to run their practice from a single customized platform.

YOUR SOLUTION, WE FIT IN!

How Does Orgzit Fit In Your Business & Help Enhance It?

Since the rise of entrepreneurial spirit globally, there has been an unprecedented rise in the number of small and medium businesses, especially in the manufacturing and services sectors, adopting new tools and methods to refine their business processes.

Orgzit takes the stage and helps them organize their information and enforce business processes within an environment, which is customized for them and gives them the ammo to take their business forward to the next level.

Think about it…

This fact is corroborated by my colleague Kartik right here in this post -

But how about if you keep all your dishes on one plate, but choose which ones to eat at what time?

Digitize Your Information & Business Processes & Ride the High Horse of Productivity

We like to be in control of things that we are doing — be it business or personal expense management. Then why wouldn’t you customize one for yourself and use it to your advantage.

If you eat dishes from different cuisines on separate plates, you end up wasting time and money both — hampered productivity.

Yes, that is the amount of customisation Orgzit offers!

Here are a few use cases that Orgzit works for splendidly -

Orgzit for streamlining hiring processes

Orgzit for market research agency

*Realization Orgzit makes you feel the actual rush when you achieve more than you aimed for in a day! Thinking how can someone handle so much on one plate? We would suggest that multi-tasking something that business leaders need not to avoid, but manage. And Orgzit is just the tool for that!

Orgzit for schools and activity centres

Orgzit for digital marketing agency

“Orgzit for Tell us what you want it for

Take Control Of Your Business, Not The Other Way Round!

Just like my new found entrepreneurship love keeps me on my toes, I think as a business leader, your daily task schedule must be like a plate full of dishes from various cuisines.

No one should taste a dish just to move on to the next one. Tasks are just like that, they need to be met from point A to Z. Leaving a task midway leads to unnecessary backlog which eventually hampers productivity of the team.

With Orgzit’s powerful data organizational features, you can make every day count.

I am an infrastructure finance professional who found his true reckoning in trying to help teams and businesses enhance productivity for which I built SaaS information and task management software .

Here’s a video which shows you how can you do simple task management in Orgzit -

I think that being Orgzit’s co-founder and ambassador comes with a certain bias, but I would really like you to give it a try and let me know what do you think about it.

After all, Productivity isn’t something that you can buy.

Originally published at https://www.linkedin.com on July 4, 2017.

--

--