Fleeting Moments: Lost in the Mists

Elise Welburn Martin
Original Reveries
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2016

I started out with this project of cataloging my fleeting moments. The project got lost in the mists of my mind. I completely spaced it off! Heading off for vacation got me thinking about other things. So, I am going to go back to those fleeting moments later, but for now, I am letting it go. Unless I am working on an assignment, my writing is often a part of my meandering life journey. I write what strikes me, moves me, speaks to me. My muse is the world, and all the things that happen in it.

For instance, last night my husband pointed out a picture in our condo. Whoever put it together caused the decoration of the painting to be off center. It was driving him crazy. Now its driving me crazy! I hadn’t even noticed it, but every time I look at it today? It jumps out at me! It does not matter at all in the scheme of things, but wow, its amazing what can be an annoyance. I find myself making up stories about why the framer framed it off center. I am sure its an art thing. One thing it does do, is draw the eye that something is off kilter. Because of that, its not a painting I am going to forget. For the sake of the artist, I can see that would be a good thing, a memorable thing.

So, if you were following the fleeting moments line of stories, I apologize. It will come back at some point, but not today! Today my mind is on sunshine, and mountains, family and fun!

--

--

Elise Welburn Martin
Original Reveries

Writer, Photographer and Life-long Learner. I love exploring life, and writing about it. I write every day because it is part of my heart and soul.