St. Karas tired himself for Christ

Andrew Kamal
Orthodox
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2023
Image source: St. Takla Haymanout

St. Karas is a true example of asceticism, monasticism, patience and following Christ. If I could have lived a life similar to this man, it would be great, but I think I am quite week and tied to many emotional or earthly things. Therefore, in my own ignorance, I am not worthy to be sharing his story or any stories of the saints, but they are important to preserve as an example to others.

I want to talk more about St. Karas, and I believe looking at his biography is a fascinating place to start. He is a desert father who spent 57 years eagerly in the wilderness. He saw Christ. I believe monasticism in its truest, realist, and harshest form, should be complete isolation from the modern world and practicing unity with God.

You are to take off the old, and put on the new. You are to be entering almost heaven on earth, and preparing as much as you can for your journey onto the afterlife. In my ignorance, it is hard to imagine a life like this sometimes. Agios, Agios, Agios to the wonderful and blessed St. Karas. Pray for us sinners while seeing Christ the Heavenly father and King, on his throne. Those who seen Christ, truly have seen the father, one in essence. Blessed are you oh St. Karas for enduring such patience, grace, and various trials as well as hardships.

--

--

Andrew Kamal
Orthodox

The dude with many different talents *Coder *Inventor *Startup Advisor *Coptic Activist *Sponsored Athlete *Blogger *Conservative *Researcher *Miaphysite