I Decided To Go With OSM Cult for a Reason — To Give It Back

Kiran Kumar S
OSM Cult’s Social Newsroom
4 min readAug 19, 2016

Wassup! Kiran here. This is my first blog post and I’m going to cover four important questions to help you know who I am and what I do at OSM Cult.

How did I get to know about OSM Cult

Well I was really broke as my business was not running fine and I had to generate an income for my survival. It was high time I stopped living on my savings. So I went through PMIT groups on Facebook and searched for jobs using the keyword ‘Job’ and voila I landed on to a post which directed me to a weirdly named page — OSM Cult (www.OSMCult.com). I found a couple of interesting jobs over there. There is much more to say after that but I guess I will stop it here. So in a nutshell, FB is where I found OSM Cult.

What attracted me the most

Money :P! Of course it’s all about money honey! As I was literally broke, I was looking for some kind of income source. I tried getting in touch with OSM Cult guys as the jobs I found were pretty weirdly interesting and it was decent money for me back then to compensate with my daily damages to my wallet. But I was skeptical about the guarantee ‘cuz I had my own bad experiences, not in the field of part time jobs, but somewhere else I belonged to some other vertical. During my college days I had heard people doing these kinds of jobs but I never had the need and hence never even tried them out. So now was the time to explore this avenue. And I HAD to due to my situation.

My first few interactions / events / contributions

My first interaction was with a guy named Rony who was helping me with the general queries I had about the job and of course the pay as well. But I still wasn’t satisfied with his answers as I was in bad need of money and I couldn’t take any chance of getting cheated (not that they would). So he put me in touch with his colleague named Rafsal K R. I spoke to him over the phone and I said that I wanted to meet him to be more confident before I take up any job. There were a couple of interesting jobs available on their Facebook page, but most of them would be closed by the time I applied. Even though I would apply to most of them the moment they were posted, they would have been closed. I was always disappointed with the platform, but I couldn’t blame them as they were just starting up. Anyway, after Rafsal and I met, he was confident and thought that I fit for certain jobs. The first part time job that I took up was for a startup which was into aggregating PGs and though the pay sucked, I took it up and gave up on the first day itself as it was not practically working out. Then I tried promoting an app called Chillr in HDFC bank which was good enough. I did it for one day, I think. This was followed by a beer promotion activity for three days. By this time Rafsal knew much better about me and felt that I was going through a bad phase of my career. So he helped me in getting a full time job. All of his efforts used to go waste… until I got an opportunity in a startup called DudeGenie. At the end of the day my purpose of generating income was fulfilled through OSM Cult and I was happy about it, which I personally conveyed to Rafsal and Rony.

What am I currently doing

While I was working with DudeGenie, I used to meet Rafsal quite often. He offered me a part time opportunity with OSM Cult during the day time. So I started contributing to OSM Cult handling Business Development (BD). It was then that I tried to understand the operations and in a nut shell all about OSM Cult. Till then I had no idea that there was such a huge market for part time opportunities. I was blown away looking at the vastness of the market. But still was a little clueless of what I was doing and I didn’t know what was coming. Bad luck knocked my door again as DudeGenie had to shut down for some reasons and people lost their jobs. But Rafsal came to my rescue saying I can take BD as full time at OSM Cult. He also said that if I didn’t want to, he’d anyway help me with other options. I decided to go with OSM Cult for a reason — to give it back; I needed just a couple of weeks to understand most of the business.

So I have been handling BD full time since November 2015 till date and it’s been a wonderful journey so far. My prime responsibility in simple terms is to bring more business to the company i.e. bringing more part time opportunities aka jobs to seekers. However being in a startup means you can do anything and everything you want. So for couple of months I have handled the operations as well, apart from my regular job. But now, I’m back to my zone as we have few more players who joined the Squad to make a difference.

In case of any Business Development or startup queries, feel free to comment below. I’d be more than happy to help you.

--

--