That’s it. I Wanted To Be A Part Of This Ever-Changing OSM World In Whatever Small Capacity I Could.

Atul Bhushan
OSM Cult’s Social Newsroom
3 min readAug 5, 2016

It was just like any other morning in February 2015 — I was reading the latest Formula 1 news after switching on the office computer. Enters a guy sporting a bandana into the office, seemingly with the sole aim to distract me from my ritual! “Hi, I’m Rafsal K R. Today’s my joining. I was supposed to meet Neemish.” Being the reclusive hermit that I was, it would have been quite easy for me to ignore him and get back again into the world of racing blaming my Karma for this distraction. But nope. I didn’t do that. I was trying to become a more social person those days (Demands of work. Pff). So, I decided to reply. Employing the deduction skills almost as proficient as those of ACP Pradyuman’s, I snapped “Neemish will be here by 10. You can sit there till then”, (directing him to a location far away from my seat). “Okay. Thanks”. And he left, leaving me wondering why he didn’t ask anyone else regarding Neemish’s whereabouts. Anyway there were more important things to be concerned about… e.g. ‘Will Kimi drive for Ferrari in the coming season?’ So I went back into my world of F1.

That was my first interaction with Rafsal.

In the following days, I got to know that he was working part-time over here at the office and was setting up his own venture pertaining to part-time jobs for youngsters. WOW! It was quite a novel idea — a far cry from the plethora of ecommerce, travel and food startups that were hot on imitating each other, and hogging ‘valuation’ headlines every other day. The idea of part-time jobs clicked me, also because of the fact that I used to work part-time during my college days whenever I was in need of a few quick bucks.

Consequently I would start following OSM Cult’s Facebook page and let my curiosity overcome my introversion. Whenever I would talk to Rafsal regarding the latest developments, it awed me to note that there was always something new happening each week. It was a huge contrast to my otherwise monotonous days. That’s it. I wanted to be a part of this ever-changing OSM world in whatever small capacity I could. Eventually I started contributing to their Facebook page through a few cover photos and posts. This was followed by writing copy for bookmarks, registration mails, provider mails, introduction slides etc. All this was till October 2015, while I was working full time as a Copywriter in an ad agency.

As of today, I am doing Marketing but not before handling the unforgiving job of coordination that taught me a lot about job seekers. More on this journey in my next post.

--

--

Atul Bhushan
OSM Cult’s Social Newsroom

During my off-superhero hours, I stare either at my laptop or a wall and try to come up with some random ideas or lines as part of OSM Cult’s marketing efforts.