People of OST: Aman Barbaria, Senior Software Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom

--

Aman Barbaria is a senior software engineer with 4 years of working experience in the e-commerce industry. He is passionate towards building consumer facing products. Aman has a bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering from Pune University.

Tell us about yourself!

I’m based in Pune but I come from Bihar, it’s borders Nepal. I did my schooling there in my hometown of Bhagalpur. I came to Pune for my bachelors in computer engineering at Sinhgad College. I have been living in Pune for about nine years now. I joined the team here about four years back at Hem. I first joined the analytics team for about seven months and then moved to Pepo Campaigns, a SaaS product built on top of AWS SES to provide email marketing solutions. Then I moved to OST, and there have been a lot of projects that I have been working on here.

What excites you about blockchain?

Blockchain is very powerful, it’s decentralized and it offers transparency. There are a lot of industries where there isn’t a lot of trust. Many people don’t trust the media, governments, or banks. Blockchain solves this as there is no central authority, meaning everything is publicly accessible and nobody can manipulate any data. Blockchain can disrupt markets where a central authority exists.

What does your role as a Senior Software Engineer at OST entail?

In 2017, I had the opportunity to lead the KYC team. We built a KYC/AML solution for the OST ICO. We decided to role this out as a SaaS product for everyone to be able to use. Recently, I worked on building the server side SDKs for OST Platform. We also built the analytics platform for reporting and graphical dashboards. It’s an ongoing work stream as we need to adjust for changes on OST Platform. We are also scoping out a project to build a tool that would integrate different payment gateways. Lastly, I help with the maintenance and development of Pepo Campaigns.

What do you look forward to this year?

I look forward to companies adopting OST Platform, implementing Brand Tokens, and finding it to be very useful. There are a lot of interesting projects we have lined up for this year and we hope to deliver it all smoothly and meet the market expectations. I also look forward to the feedback from partner companies and our community to improve on the use cases which we have been building. I hope for this year to be a successful one for OST as well as blockchain.

Thank you, Aman!

Be sure to check out last week’s interview with OST lead software engineer Alpesh Modi. Subscribe to our YouTube channel or listen to the audio format anywhere you listen to podcasts, including iTunes, Stitcher, and Spotify. We’re also now available on Alexa! Simply add “OST LIVE” to your flash briefing.

About OST

OST powers the future of brand loyalty. Innovators use OST Platform to reward behaviours and increase engagement with Brand Currency. It’s a complete set of developer tools that any company can integrate without any in-house blockchain expertise. OST partners reach more than 300 million end-users and we will be rolling out live implementations throughout 2019. OST currently has offices in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, and Pune, and is expanding to other markets. OST is backed by leading institutional equity investors including Tencent, Greycroft, Vectr Ventures and 500 Startups.

--

--