People of OST: Bhavik Shah, Senior QA Automation Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom

--

Bhavik is a seasoned QA Automation Engineer, with more than 5 years of experience in the software QA industry in both large companies and startups. He’s passionate about creating and enhancing test automation frameworks to improve the overall development lifecycle. Bhavik is also a sports enthusiast — he loves to play table tennis and badminton.

Tell us about yourself!

I am from Gujarat, a state in the western part of India. I completed my bachelor of engineering from the Babaria Institute of Technology. I am currently living in Pune with my family. I have worked in the software industry as a QA engineer for the past five years. I started my career with a multinational company and then jumped into startups. Startups like OST have a very fast pace environment which gives me the opportunity to learn new things. I have been at OST for over a year and it has been a great experience.

What does your role as a QA Engineer entail?

QA entails verifying that our products work properly before they are shipped to the end-user. We create multiple use cases to pilot our products. If there are any issues or bugs, we report them to the development team for correction. After many cycles of testing, issue-reporting, and bug fixing, we get the final application ready for the market. Our primary responsibility is to verify the product before it gets to the end-user.

On the operation side, we work to reduce manual efforts. For example, if I want to test the Pepo application, I need to first open the application, perform login actions and video creation. To automate this, I write and run a script to verify that the application is working. The script will log in, perform actions, as well as any other tasks required. This is how we automate tasks to reduce manual effort.

I have also been part of the initial team working on Pepo. We test the application daily and work to make the app better. I’ve also worked on almost all the OST products, including OST Platform, OST View, and the OST SDKs. OST Platform is completely automated, so I get a daily report that verifies if the platform is stable. My current goal is to achieve the same automation process for Pepo.

Can you tell me about communities on Pepo?

Communities on Pepo are a common space where people that share the same interests can come together and create videos. Users can share topic-specific views and engage in meaningful interactions with others. There are many communities available and you can even request to create your own. You can also share specific communities with friends via the QR code or link available on the top right of the page.

What do you expect to see from the blockchain industry?

I expect to see further innovation in the space this year. There are many user-specific dapps that are coming into the market. End-users can expect to get benefits from blockchain applications. Businesses are beginning to launch their tokenized programs. I think people are starting to understand that blockchains are safe, secure, fast, and cost-effective compared to orthodox systems. I think that more businesses will start to build applications based on blockchain technology.

Thank you, Bhavik!

Be sure to check out our team page for more interviews! Looking for a career challenge? Visit our careers page for open positions around the world!

--

--