People of OST: Mayur Patil, Software Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom
Published in
3 min readNov 25, 2019

--

Mayur is a front-end developer who previously worked as a full stack developer. He is passionate about building applications using Python and front-end technologies. Mayur holds a bachelor of engineering from the University of Pune.

Tell us about yourself!

I completed my Bachelor of Engineering in Electronics and Telecommunication from the University of Pune. I have three years and six months of experience in software engineering. Previously, I have worked as a full stack developer. Currently, I’m working as a front-end developer. I have been here at OST for about 18 month, working on various technologies like Ruby on rails, Node.js, and JavaScript. My favorite programming language is JavaScript. Currently, we are building the mobile application Pepo, using the React Native.

Although I have previously worked as a full stack developer, my major responsibility was a front-end. My preference is working full-stack developer with a major role as a front-end technologies. I am good at front-end, but I also know back-end, which is a really good skill to have.

What projects have you worked on at OST?

I joined OST as a front-end developer. Initially, I worked on OST Platform and on some static pages. I then moved into front-end development for our KYC solution. I worked on building a user interface and admin dashboard. We used angular for the admin dashboard development. After that, I moved into working with the back-end team for KYC. I worked on KYC back-end for almost six months. I then worked on helping build OST Platform data analytics using a tool called Pentaho. Right now, I work with the mobile development team to build out the Pepo application on React Native.

What applications can benefit from the low-cost microtransactions?

OST Platform enables tokenization and offers direct impact to any application that chooses our platform. The applications empower users by making them true owners of the tokens and loyalty points they earn. The application also becomes much more accountable as all the information is available on chain. In terms of types of applications, OST has already enabled use of microtransactions in social media applications, Pepo and Hornet. We are also excited to see how OST will impact retail applications.

OST Platforms APIs and SDKs enable developers to create a token economy and mint their own brand token without the need to know blockchain. OST SDKs can be integrated to mobile applications to enable secure crypto transactions. This is how we were able to integrate a simple, seamless, and slick crypto experience on the Pepo app.

What do you hope to see built in this industry?

As blockchain is distributed in nature, speed and scalability are still the main challenges in the blockchain community. We are trying to solve the scalability factor in blockchain on layer 2. User experience is also one of the challenges in the blockchain industry. We are tackling this by demonstrating how to create a better user experience with our Pepo application.

Thank you, Mayur!

Be sure to check out last interview with OST software engineer Shraddha Patil. Subscribe to our YouTube channel or listen to the audio format anywhere you listen to podcasts, including iTunes, Stitcher, and Spotify.

About OST

OST powers the future of brand loyalty. Innovators use OST Platform to reward behaviors and increase engagement with Brand Currency. It’s a complete set of developer tools that any company can integrate without any in-house blockchain expertise. OST partners reach more than 300 million end-users and we will be rolling out live implementations throughout 2019. OST currently has offices in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, and Pune, and is expanding to other markets. OST is backed by leading institutional equity investors including Tencent, Greycroft, Vectr Ventures and 500 Startups.

--

--