People of OST: Preshita Shirke, Senior Software Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom
3 min readJan 17, 2020

--

A computer science engineering graduate from VJTI, Mumbai, Preshita has extensive experience in frontend technologies. When not following her passion for learning and exploring new technologies she spends her time cooking and traveling.

Tell us about yourself!

I’m a computer science graduate from VJTI, Mumbai. I completed my engineering degree in 2015 and I have four years of experience in the software industry. I started my career as a software engineer in CitiusTech Healthcare, which is a global leader in the healthcare industry. There I got to work on various front-end and back-end technologies like Java, JavaScript, and Angular. I also had the opportunity to dive into big data for some time. I’ve been with OST for the past 18 months working as a front-end engineer.

What about OST caught your interest?

When I heard about OST, blockchain was a new term that I had just heard about. I always like to explore new technologies. With blockchain being in an early stage of development, I saw this as an opportunity to explore the new technology. I was also interested immensely in JavaScript. When I interviewed with OST, I found that there were many like minded people working here and saw that I would definitely get the opportunity to expand my skills here. This was the moment I decided that OST would be the right place for me. It has truly been a great experience having Rachin, Akshay, and Ashutosh guide me.

What projects have you worked on at OST?

I first joined the KYC team to work on the UI of the admin dashboard, which was written in Angular. Later, I moved on to working on many of the marketing pages and sections of our company site. I also took part in some QA assistant projects used for wallet testing, which was written in React. I was also part of the revamp of OST Platform. Currently, I’m working on our own Pepo app as a React Native dev on the UI team.

Can you tell us about the recent Pepo update?

We have introduced a new feature that enables users to reply to their favorite creator. Users can post a reply on a creator update. Users also have a slick scrollable list where they can see all video replies and watch any reply with a click.

What blockchain applications are you most excited about?

I think social media could be a very nice opportunity for blockchain use cases. We have used OST Platform for integrating with Hornet and Pepo. I’m also excited about governance use cases as systems could be managed in a very transparent and decentralized way. I think blockchain has quite the potential to find use cases and solve many real world problems.

Thank you, Preshita!

Be sure to check out last interview with OST software engineer Mayur Patil. Subscribe to our YouTube channel or listen to the audio format anywhere you listen to podcasts, including iTunes, Stitcher, and Spotify.

About OST

OST powers the future of brand loyalty. Innovators use OST Platform to reward behaviors and increase engagement with Brand Currency. It’s a complete set of developer tools that any company can integrate without any in-house blockchain expertise. OST currently has offices in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, and Pune, and is expanding to other markets. OST is backed by leading institutional equity investors including Tencent, Greycroft, Vectr Ventures and 500 Startups.

--

--