People of OST: Sarvesh Jain, Blockchain Engineer

MOTA
ostdotcom
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2019

--

Sarvesh is a Software Engineer who joined the Pune Team as a Blockchain Developer. He is an expert in backend development and system design. Sarvesh loves to travel and he is an avid cyclist. In his free time, he likes to read up on the latest news in the tech industry.

Tell us about yourself!

I joined OST’s Pune office about one year ago. I come from a small town in the center part of India called is Mandsaur. I moved on to do my computer engineering from a very old regional college in Indore i.e. SGSITS. I then began my career where I completed four years of experience at various companies. Apart from that, I like writing blogs. I currently write mainly about blockchain. I also enjoy basketball, cycling, and running.

What excites you about blockchain?

I heard about blockchain about three years ago. I initially learned about Bitcoin and peer-to-peer payment networks. I then started looking into Ethereum, which enables flexibility with the use of smart contracts. I heard about the decentralized internet and I really like the vision on what people are trying to build and how we can create a new business model without middlemen. I also read a lot of white papers. The combination of all these things gave me a good understanding of blockchain, so I decided to move into this space. I began learning about Ethereum, Solidity, and Smart Contracts.

When I was reading about the projects in the community, I came across the OST white paper. What excited me was that OST is working on a scaling solution that can actually be used by applications with millions of users.

What does your role as a blockchain engineer at OST entail?

I work closely with chief blockchain strategist Benjamin Bollen and CTO Sunil Khedar. We are a team of eight, four are here in Pune and four are based in Berlin. We usually write smart contracts, but I’m currently working on Mosaic. In the last release, we released the messaging protocol which is a subsection of Mosaic. My world revolves around writing contracts, thinking about design, and solving blockchain layer problems. We write layer two interaction JS layers to interact with the contracts.

With the recent release, now anyone can create a Brand Tokens on the origin chain. With the messaging protocol on Mosaic, we can now move tokens from one chain to another chain. We also have a contract that finalizes the state of one blockchain into another blockchain.

What are you working on now that we have launched OST Platform?

The protocol team is currently focused on Mosaic contracts. We have one more repository that we’re working on, which is Mosaic chains. It allows you to create your own auxiliary chain. You can also connect to an existing chain that is running on mainnet. We will then move ahead with the Mosaic finalization logic. We are also researching cross chain atomic swaps and stable economies.

What do you look forward to this year?

I’m excited to see how mainstream applications can integrate with OST Platform and how they can leverage blockchain for their business logic. Secondly, it will be exciting to see how Mosaic protocol can scale and increase throughput on the blockchain. I’m also excited about the partner pilots. Lastly, I look forward to new protocol development, how the community can adopt our solution, and how we can learn from each other to solve problems.

Thank you, Sarvesh!

Be sure to check out last week’s interview with OST software engineer Shlok Gilda. Subscribe to our YouTube channel or listen to the audio format anywhere you listen to podcasts, including iTunes, Stitcher, and Spotify. We’re also now available on Alexa! Simply add “OST LIVE” to your flash briefing.

About OST

OST powers the future of brand loyalty. Innovators use OST Platform to reward behaviours and increase engagement with Brand Currency. It’s a complete set of developer tools that any company can integrate without any in-house blockchain expertise. OST partners reach more than 300 million end-users and we will be rolling out live implementations throughout 2019. OST currently has offices in Berlin, New York, Hong Kong, and Pune, and is expanding to other markets. OST is backed by leading institutional equity investors including Tencent, Greycroft, Vectr Ventures and 500 Startups.

--

--