Sappho’s Song

Sophie Overton
Ostraka
Published in
Feb 13, 2019
Simeon Solomon’s painting of Sappho with Erinna

Beautiful, Plato purred…

As the air in my lungs breathed lexis, diction, words,

But passion brewed this poetic mixture;

It tasted and it stirred,

Your skin, your sweetness, your mind became the bone of my expression,

Now my hymn to Aphrodite is read in exegesis as a sexual confession,

Morphing my purpose away from theological questions,

Is this academic insight or academic oppression?

I was a verb in an ancient contextual framework of nouns,

You, History, try to fit me into scholarly cages as if I were merely vowels,

But I am more than poetic verse and sweet sounds,

I will forever be a muse that you shall eternally try to expound,

But within my words,

I am present and I am found.

By Sophie Bea Louise Overton

Do you have a suggestion for a future topic? Do you have an idea to share with your friends? Send us a message and follow the Durham University Classics Society on Twitter (@DUClassSoc) and Facebook (@DUClassics Society) to keep up with this blog and our other adventures!

--

--

Sophie Overton
Ostraka
Writer for

❤ BA Theology and Religion at Durham University and Current MPhil Student at the University of Cambridge. Aspiring Writer and Academic