College swimming gave me confidence for my future

Natalie Brophy
JLM 312
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2017

When I was a chubby 6-year-old, I told my dad I wanted to start swimming because “you don’t sweat in the water.”

For the next 15 years, my desire to exercise and not sweat lead me on a path that culminated in a less-than-stellar collegiate swimming career at Oswego State.

But I’m grateful I had the opportunity to swim in college at all.

Only 7. 4 percent of high school girls who compete in swimming will go on to swim in college, according to data from the NCAA.

Of that 7.4 percent, 3 percent compete at the Div. III level.

I was part of that 3 percent.

I didn’t swim for a free education or national recognition, not that many college swimmers get that anyway. I decided to swim in college because I loved the sport.

The first week of practice at my club team, the Tonawanda Titans, was so hard I told my parents I wanted to quit. They told me to stick it out a little longer and everything would get easier with practice.

They were right.

Swimming became one of the biggest parts of my life. By the time high school rolled around, I wasn’t a great swimmer. I was decent. Average.

But I was fueled to keep swimming. I craved the sense of accomplishment that washed over me when I set a goal, worked hard and accomplished it.

Here I am, leading off a medley relay at SUNYACs in 2016.

I committed to Oswego State for swimming in April of my senior year. My dream of being a collegiate athlete was finally coming true.

But college swimming wasn’t what I thought it would be.

I did not like my coach at first. The training was very different than what I was used to. My old shoulder injury came back. The dining hall food began to catch up with me.

My first SUNYAC meet was disappointing. I didn’t swim nearly as fast as I had in high school nor did I accomplish my goal of making top eight in my events.

I was determined to do better the next year. And I did. But it wasn’t easy.

At the beginning of my second season, I had a falling out with my roommates, who were my best friends and teammates.

I became depressed. I wanted to quit so badly. I wanted to walk into coach’s office and tell him I couldn’t do it anymore.

But I never did that.

When I wanted to quit, I thought back to that little girl who pushed through her first week of practice and fell in love with swimming. So I kept trucking along.

At my final SUNYAC meet, I failed to make finals in any of my events.

I remember walking over to coach after my last race and saying, “Well, that was my last race ever” and then bursting into tears.

I didn’t think I would cry. I told everyone I wasn’t going to be sad when it was over, but I was so sad.

Even though my college swimming career was incredibly frustrating, I knew I was going to miss it. A huge part of my life was suddenly over.

I may not have gone a single best time or accomplished any of the athletic goals I set for myself during my time as a Laker, but I wouldn’t change what I learned about myself for a school record or SUNYAC title.

I grew as a person. I challenged myself to push through the hard times, even when I wanted to give up. Swimming in college has given me the confidence to realize that no matter what life throws at me as I embark on adulthood, I’ll be able to conquer it.

--

--

Natalie Brophy
JLM 312
Editor for

Journalism major at SUNY Oswego | Copy Editor @TheOswegonian | Competitive swimmer | Cat lover | Boy band enthusiast | #BuffaLove