Guest Speaker Reaction- JLM 312

Jennifer Perez
JLM 312
Published in
2 min readMay 7, 2018

Throughout the semester in my sports and journalism class, we had guest speakers come in or skyped with us and gave us a lot of advice that may help us in the future, if we decide to pursue sports journalism as a career.

What I learned from Tyler Dunne from Bleacher Report, and I will always remember this, think of interviews as just talking to people. I will always remember this, because I am that person that will always be nervous if I do interviews or have not done them often. This advice will also help me, because it will remind me to just be myself, and don’t always have to think of interviews as a ‘scary thing.’ But always be prepared, and if people say no, which it does happen sometimes, it won’t be the end of the world.

What also will help me with the advice is always always do research, no matter what the topic is or who you are interviewing, and I have learned a lot from different reporters this semester, including Tyler Dunne. And, after this class, also when I graduate I have never thought of pursuing sports journalism as a career, even though I am graduating in Broadcasting and Mass Communications. After taking this class, I wish I could have switched majors and gone into sports journalism.

Tyler Dunne, other sports reporters, and my professor gave us great tips on how to be great reporters and writers. I’ll never forget, and it will always stick with me once I find a job somewhere in sports reporting and writing.

--

--