Brittany L. Morrill
JLM 312
Published in
2 min readMar 29, 2017

--

Will Leitch… Life advisor, Comedian or Writer?

Skype isn’t usually the place you would meet a famous writer? Or is it?

My person reflection of the 55 minutes well spent was as follows:

For starters I didn’t think I would get a life lesson and a comedian in the same sitting. I felt personally like I gained some knowledge on my future, well after this $80,000 is spent here at school. Although I am not a writer I took the advice “don’t write for companies for free” into my own way. In more of a sense that your time is valuable and you can gain practice on your own time but when it comes to using your skills for you career you deserve to be paid. Also I found it amazing to hear that he finds ways to never shy away from what inspired him in the first place. I can’t quite remember the quote he used about the muse but I do remember him saying don’t ever lose that. Personally I am afraid of falling in love with a job and career path and then just losing that passion. I think based on his advice of finding what works for you plays a big role in this.

Will and I have a few things is common:

  1. small town farm folk
  2. love a team that will never win (Me: Bills - Will:Cardinals)
  3. not giving up on something just because you can’t win
  4. make a joke out of nothing

On a more serious note he is probably one of the most humble writers I have hear from. Most writers like up talk their work and make it seem like they are the Derek Jeter of writing, but him not so much. He asked the class “what do you guys think of my writing?” , and in my head (not with my mouth because I am awkward) I was thinking how much I truly enjoyed his work. I don’t read much or write, which shows but, the articles we read were so unique compared to the other past. The tone and personality were so personal, not so much bland and like a robot wrote it.That not only showed in his writing but also on Skype. He used a lot of comedic relief and relevant stories that made it much more enjoyable than anticipated. His son and the toast face story.. legendary. Makes me wonder what my dad secretly calls me.

If there is one writer I would want to work with when I’m on the sports event management field it would be him, unless another speaker comes and blows my socks off. But until then.

--

--