What I’m reading

Chukwudi Barrah
Other Expats Stories
2 min readApr 25, 2018

I CAN’T MAKE THIS (SHIT) UP
I bet Kevin wanted that (shit) up in the title and the publishers were like, “No Kevin, you can’t have ‘shit’ in your book title. It wouldn’t sell (as much as you want).”

Kevin read the audiobook himself! That is just double the enjoyment you get from a book that’s already great. Kevin sprinkles a healthy amount of his comedy in between reads that’s almost always on point. It was a little bit on the dry side sometimes, but it was a mostly great experience.

“What can you do in the face of a reality that can be indifferent, cold even cruel? All you can do is play the odds. If you choose to give up, you can be fairly certain that life will pass you by. But if you choose to try your best, you can at least tip the balance significantly in your favour. Life is about the effort you put into it.”

The book started out slow. Like, I felt like I already knew where everything was going. I know Kevin Hart, right? I follow his Instagram, I watch his standups and his movies. I know the dude. Or, do I?

“You know nothing Jon Snow” was the feeling that I got a few chapters in (and there’s like one million chapters in the book god damn!. The book isn’t that long, it’s just structured that way. Like, every chapter is around 3 pages). I increasingly discovered that almost everything I knew was barely skimming the surface.

“There’s a giant gap between what you imagine yourself doing and what you’re capable of doing and it hurts pretty bad when you fall into that gap.”

Remember Soul Plane? Awesome movie, right? And how Kevin Hart became popular, right? Nope. It was a massive flop, and actually kinda damaged his career. And there’s more and more of those things I thought I already knew.

We know that Kevin Hart works hard. Extra hard. He’s everywhere, in everything. This is the story of why he does that. It’s probably (not) what you think it is.

--

--

Chukwudi Barrah
Other Expats Stories

I do things. I write, ride, walk, and read. Views expressed here are [mostly] mine. Also on chukwudibarrah.com