Early-2017 Fantasy and Science Fiction TV

Tessa
Otherworlds
Published in
2 min readDec 29, 2016

Casual notes on a few upcoming shows

I may have confessed this before, but I don’t read much current SFF; however, I’m thrilled to watch it on TV. In my opinion, since the advent of such series as ABC’s Lost and Syfy’s Battlestar Galactica, the quality of SFF on TV has been steadily improving. These days I’m not surprised when new offerings blow me away. Below is a short list of SFF shows I’m looking forward to at the start of 2017 (with accompanying ramblings).

Emerald City on NBC

Premieres January 6

The preview looks absolutely stunning. “War is upon us. A clash of science and magic.” Um, YES, PLEASE. I like how there’s some lovely ethnic flavor going on with Adria Arjona in the starring role as Dorothy. Actually there’s a ton of cultural zest throughout the cast. All I can say is: excellent. While the special effects look pretty amazing in the online clip, I hope they can be pulled off as well on HDTV. Mostly I’m excited to see the unfolding of the re-imagined story.

The Expanse (Season 2) on Syfy

Premieres February 1

Go see Star Wars to get it out of your system, then hunker down a little while longer for the start of the actual epic sci-fi of The Expanse. To be honest I didn’t love the ending of the first season (i.e. the revelation of the inexplicable alien life-form contagion), but I’m eager to see what happens next in the conflict between Earth and Mars. Socio-political aspects add depth and intrigue. My favorite character is Naomi Nagata, the enigmatic, brainy, intrepid, and edgy Belter and former Chief Engineer of the ice hauler Canterbury, played superbly by Dominique Tipper.

Humans (Season 2) on AMC

Premieres February 13

This is the series that completely blew me away when the first season aired in 2015. Like most British TV its brilliance is rooted in the portrayal of characters with whom we can empathize, regardless of the fact that some of them aren’t even human. What helps the show’s success is the beauty, internal as well as external, of the human-serving robotic Synths who are gradually gaining consciousness and being forced to learn to navigate a world which both fears and needs them as never before. Humans is a reflection on the condition, dignity, and potential of being human. I can’t wait for more of this sci-fi masterpiece.

~

--

--

Tessa
Otherworlds

Thinking & writing on a hodgepodge. Artsier stuff’s at https://medium.com/poi-holloi. Per Medium my ‘top stories’ list has a ‘bug’.