It was like a dream for me, I have officially graduated from Manara.

Manara
Our Careers So Far
3 min readOct 24, 2022

--

This blog is for everyone who wants to know about what it’s like to be a Manara participant. My name is Mennatullah Abdelrahman and I’m a computer science student at the Egypt-Japan University of Science and Technology.

I just graduated from Manara and I’m happy to share my personal experience so far.

Stage #1: Afraid of coding assessments

I’ve been selected to join Manara’s Summer Cohort from March 25 until now. Through those 7 months, I passed many stages.

I didn’t solve any leetcode problems and I rarely used data structures nor focused on the algorithm’s complexity in my solutions. I know everything but not together. I was always afraid of taking any coding assessment. I didn’t have a plan to fix this, besides the fact that few companies will accept you without referrals.

Stage #2: Leetcode & English

During Manara’s program, we strongly focus on data structures and algorithms. Every week we are assigned a particular topic with given resources to study. Then we have a session that includes a quiz and a topic review. We also discuss more advanced ideas about this topic.
Every week, I am supposed to submit 10 leetcode questions, the Manara’s assessments, and soft skills homework.

You’re assigned to an English instructor to improve your speaking. All the meetings are in English. We always have 2 teaching assistants, one for technical and the other for behavioral.

Stage #3: The mock interviews and gaining self confidence

Every month we conduct a mock interview until we are more familiar with interviews and how to talk and think throughout an interview.
You’re always given feedback about your behavioral interview. Also, we have been assigned a mentor for behavioral interviews. Mentors are very friendly, they improve our self-confidence and push us to continue.

Stage #4: Special events for Women

Especially for women, we have an event every month or less to support each other and talk freely about everything that happened with us. Manara invites people from previous cohorts or FAANG companies to chat with us and let us ask them about their careers and connect with them. Manara provides resume reviews and approvals.

Stage #5: The more effort you put in, the more benefit you gain

You have your mock interviews and final interviews with recruiters from FAANG companies and startups. I had my interviewers from Facebook, Google, Intel, etc and their feedback is available.

All the previous stages are the way to graduate from Manara’s training and now it is time for the job hunting phase. 🤘

You usually need 7–12 hours per week to finish Manara’s assignments and attend required sessions. The more effort you put in, the more benefit you gain.

What’s next? Job hunting and chasing dreams

I’m excited for the next phase of my journey, I will be assigned a talent placement representative who will be connecting me with opportunities and referrals for interviews.

I haven’t decided yet whether I want to go for big tech or remote work with an incredible start-up, good thing Manara helps with that too!

--

--

Manara
Our Careers So Far

Manara is a social enterprise whose mission is to connect undiscovered engineering talent in the Middle East and North Africa to global opportunities.