2016: Year of the Outsider

Taylor Gipple
Our Caucus
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2016

I attended a Donald Trump speech in June, a few days after he announced his candidacy for president. I simply went because it was Donald Trump, the spectacle, the billionaire, and I thought his campaign would flop in a matter of weeks. This was days after he said the now famous ‘They’re bringing drugs. They’re bringing crime. They’re rapists.’ I thought after he said something like that there’d be no chance of people taking him seriously.

Obviously, I was wrong. He would repeatedly say something outlandish and in turn, I would say ‘that’s gotta be it for him’, but then he’d repeatedly rise in the polls. Even about a month ago, I wrote a post that predicted Marco Rubio as the future GOP nominee, but rather recently I’ve realized Trump is going to pull it off. Trump is going to be the 2016 GOP nominee.

I’ve determined there are just as many people angry at the current political system on the conservative side as there are on the liberal side of the spectrum. There’s no way they’d nominate Donald Trump. There’s no way they’d nominate Bernie Sanders. But they’re both attracting the biggest crowds, are livid at the political system, and are saying things unheard of in politics. It was foolish of me to believe Bernie Sanders could win the nomination, but not Trump. The same anger Sanders supporters are feeling is the same anger that Trump supporters have.

Yes, they have very different beliefs about how to fix the problems. Both Trump and Sanders are outsider candidates, outraged at the current system, and have a drove of followers behind them. And that’s why I believe 2016 is the year of the outsider and the last two standing will be Bernie Sanders and Donald Trump. The debates would be glorious.

--

--

Taylor Gipple
Our Caucus

Des Moines native. Contributor: Dialogue & Discourse, Des Moines Register: Our Caucus, HuffPost. huffpost.com/author/taylor-gipple | medium.com/our-caucus