Ben Carson at Simpson College

Stacey Post
Our Caucus
Published in
2 min readJan 28, 2016

The latest in the saga of candidates visiting Simpson was Dr. Ben Carson visiting a few days ago. (Gov. Huckabee was also in Indianola yesterday, but not on campus.)

As the chair of Simpson College Republicans, I got to do the welcome at the event and spend some time with Dr. Carson before it began.

One of the things I love most about the caucus is that Iowans get to meet candidates personally, something that couldn’t happen in a more populous state. It leads into a vetting process in which we can sense the judgement and mannerisms of someone better than when they are in front of TV cameras. That’s one of the things I don’t love- that elections are about national polls now, not about individually courting voters.

Regardless, it was pretty neat to meet Dr. Carson. From my 10 minutes with him before the event started, he was exactly as I expected him. Extremely nice and caring individual.

Photo proof, in case you doubted me:

--

--

Stacey Post
Our Caucus

I was summoned by my country, whose voice I can never hear but with veneration and love. Our liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain. Lets get fiscal