Caucus Experience

Kristene Feldhaus
3 min readFeb 4, 2016

--

Caucus Goers

Well last night is an experience I will never forget. This picture was taken before the room was busting at the seams with eager caucus voters. I am not a speaker at all and I openly admit it. My family arrived early to get prepped and I had time to sit and think about the upcoming speaking event. I have never been comfortable with speaking in front a crowd. I would never run for office because of this fear. So when it was my turn to stand up to speak, the end result was not pretty, and my guy did not win. I still walked away with a smile, because of the experience of standing up for the candidate, I thought was the best fit for our country.

I know that my candidate was at the bottom of the polls at the end of the night. That never feels good but it is what it is. The Republicans have a lot of candidates running and each brings a positive stance to the table. So many people were telling me about three candidates they could see being a good leader. This experience has not been an easy one for me. I have shared my traditional values with those who have come across my blogs. There was no political correctness on my end and some comments were not politically correct either.

There are those who disagree with my opinions and I disagree with theirs. Our lifestyles are just so different that we will never agree on any political topic. The thing I leave here with is that I am so glad to have gone through this experience with the Des Moines Register. I enjoyed diving into an experience I had never been apart of before. I stood in front of nearly 200 people last night and broke down why I thought Rick Santorum was the best candidate. At least I tried. We all have our strengths and I will stick to writing before I do public speaking again. My children got to watch their mother stand and voice her opinion to the crowd. That was a great learning experience for them.

These citizens are all on the same page that there needs to be a change. Change is necessary and the change cannot be with Hillary or Bernie. I pray consistently that Hillary does not get into office. The Republican candidate chosen to fight for the presidency will be backed by my family 100 percent. I saw the votes cast as I was able to witness the count. This ensures that no lying or misconduct occurs and that no voter fraud claims may be brought up. The Oakland crowd was absolutely wonderful and gracious towards me. They knew that I was uncomfortable and gave me positive comments. Though I wanted to hide in the bathroom and cry- that is how much I hate public speaking. Being pregnant does not help those feelings either.

This experience has also proven that we picked the right location to call home. I never thought we would move back to Iowa but have seen the overwhelming positives to that decision. In the end, the voters just want our country back and to live our lives with a leader who knows how to lead. These last several years have been horrid and there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Let’s just hope that the Republican candidate can win in the end. I have hope that thing will be different.

--

--

Kristene Feldhaus

Stay at home mom who wants to change the direction of the country.