Marco Rubio at Simpson

Stacey Post
Our Caucus
Published in
1 min readJan 25, 2016

Simpson College has officially tackled four presidential candidates in one week: Hillary Clinton, Marco Rubio, Martin O’Malley, and Ben Carson.

Sen. Rubio was a fantastic speaker. The room was full and the setup was welcoming.

He answered questions that were critical of him and was clear about his vision for America.

I loved how positive he was about keeping America great instead of being okay with America falling behind.

This week for my American history class, we read Turner’s Frontier Thesis. The document is from the 1800s and argues that America must always be moving forward, or else it is no longer America. In other words, Turner says exploration and expansion are part of the “genetic makeup” of America.

His explanation is definitely applicable to the event. When we ran out of space westward, we looked to technological revolution. Now we look to space. Always expanding and exploring.

That was a huge part of Rubio’s speech. We must always be moving forward and not fall behind.

I know the point of a stump speech is to impress people, but I was very much impressed. Plus I got a great picture!

--

--

Stacey Post
Our Caucus

I was summoned by my country, whose voice I can never hear but with veneration and love. Our liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain. Lets get fiscal