Our Voters Need To Be Responsible Adults

Kristene Feldhaus
3 min readJan 25, 2016

--

Why did I pick Rick Santorum to represent my family in the White House? The true answer is that he has the same moral compass that my family has. He is a man who believes in a complete family unit, follows his religious beliefs without apology, wants to protect all unborn babies, knows the dangers of ISIS, and wants to take care of our military.

I am not stupid and I do realize that he will not completely be able to change everything that I view as bad. I get that. He cannot make my life better because only I can. Some of our voters want the leader of the United States to fix all their problems. There is no leader that will ever be able to fix our problems. We are adults and we are in charge of our lives. I do not want a dictator who rams new laws down my throat. I do not want to be taxed even more because all the young kids want to go to college for free, and I surely do not want my military to be dwindled down to nothing.

Tonight, I sat back and wondered why I specifically picked Rick Santorum out of all the candidates to vote for. Realistically all of these Republican candidates offer a good reason to be elected. Thankfully old news reports have shown the true voting pattern and behaviors of some. Sadly, most of the voters are completely oblivious and choose to ignore all the red flags on their favorite candidate. I choose to not vote blindly for a candidate. I can tell you that President Obama had blind voters going to the polls. An example would be two of my friends who are very regretful of their votes to get Obama into the White House. Obama promised to make their lives better. He did nothing to help them and they are still in the same position as before the elections.

I need to believe that my leader will work in the best interest of all our legal citizens. If welfare is needed, then it better be going to those here legally, and those who are not able to work. I have led several financial classes and see those who are on disability and struggle on a monthly basis. Those are individuals who need some assistance. Then we have some who choose to spend without a budget and no restraint and find themselves dead broke. My husband had to bail out younger soldiers several times because of their lack of education on how to take charge of their finances. I assure you, Private, that your XBOX is not needed and your baby does need food.

Our society needs to get back to the times where hard work was expected and rewarded. No one wants to do the hard work but still get rewarded for this behavior. What in the world are we teaching our children? We are teaching them to be total failures. Do not expect the government to hold your hand through life. Do not expect to be babysat and provided for when you are completely capable of working. Get your butt in gear and have a goal in mind. When you have goal then you work much harder. When you finish your goal, you actually feel like you accomplished something. Do not let the government take away our drive. Stop giving everyone everything for nothing.

--

--

Kristene Feldhaus

Stay at home mom who wants to change the direction of the country.