Madeline Meyer
Our Caucus
Published in
2 min readFeb 2, 2016

--

Who did I caucus for? Read this to find out

My alarm went off at 3:45 a.m. And despite getting three hours of sleep, I woke up ridiculously excited. As an Iowa caucus goer I received the golden ticket to be a guest on the LIVE Today show set, and Sen. Marco Rubio, Secretary Hillary Clinton, Donald Trump and Sarah Palin all made guest appearances on the show.

I woke up this morning going to the Democrat caucus, planning on voting for Martin O’Malley. I like the underdog, and my values align more with Democratic policies. When I went to the Today show, Sen. Marco Rubio showed up. And I changed my mind.

Here is why: I couldn’t stand and watch as candidates like Trump and Cruz galvanized the Republican party. The American political system needs strong parties who are willing to work together. I want to see the Republican party succeed, just as I want to see the Democrats elect a successful candidate. As I said in my analysis of Rubio: Rubio holds strong conviction that he is meant to serve as president. He inspires excitement in everyone that meets him, he would be a spark-plug for young Republicans. He is eloquent and easy to understand, a force to be reckoned with in the race to the White House.

And I’m proud to say that I caucused for Sen. Marco Rubio.

Stay tuned for an in-depth version of my caucus experience tomorrow!

--

--