Comfy Style Yet Formal

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2017

When it comes to job interviews, we all struggle with something, whether it’s answering questions with the right logic and answers. But sometimes it’s completely out of our minds of what we aren’t doing or doing right in the job interview stage.

For me, it took me many interviews till I found my answer being my lack of confidence. Why and how could this be? How can a human being not have some amount of confidence at any job interview after many of them and not see it? Well I just thought it was how I answered the questions, the attitude, logic, eye contract and other kind and professional acts to be shown in the interview.

After suffering for so long with my depression, recovering from my relapse and finally going to my 2nd interview for a while, I finally gained more and enough self confidence within myself for my interview with La Vie En Rose.

My depression relapse started June 10th 2016 and I first got my official diagnosis for “severe depression” as of October 4th and started on my first antidepressant trial (Lexapro) lasting 6 weeks as of October 7th.

I had originally scheduled my interview with the La Vie En Rose employer on Saturday November 5th at 2:00pm but was busy attending my sister’s first college open house and was late getting home from Barrie. So I called with at least a little more than an hour to reschedule the interview for another day. I rescheduled it for Monday November 7th at 9:00am.

And I’m gladly able to say that it was the right thing to do for two reasons. One being late coming home and not being able to make it in time and the other being as per I didn’t feel all that great within myself as well as not having enough self confidence for the interview.

After the thought of wanting to work at La Vie En Rose, I worked up more self confidence to prepare for my interview that Monday. And by the time I was all dressed, with makeup, ate breakfast, took my pills and brushed my teeth, I was ready and had more confidence enough to feel so great after the interview.

And before the end of the interview, I asked about when I’d hear back if I made the cut for the job; she said by tomorrow morning. So I came home after the interview, changed into comfier clothes and a little after 5:00pm that day, I received a call from La Vie En Rose offering me a seasonal job at their company.

During that call, had scheduled me to come by to pick up some papers to fill out and later that week was notified about attending a meeting with all the employees at the store on Sunday. When I heard the words stating an offer for me to work there, I ‘felt’ excitement, happiness and success within me.

And then after I hung up, I freaked out and went downstairs and called my grandma and grandpa that I got the job. And later when my dad came upstairs, I told him and had already at that point, updated my Facebook status to working at La Vie En Rose and got many likes by friends and family. When my mom came home a little later then she normally does, I told her.

And guess what, I chose to apply to some jobs on Indeed and other platforms online all on my own. My parents and sister had been nagging and demanding (forcing) me to gain my own control to improve myself: one being what I did; applying to jobs, gaining enough confidence and acing the job interview leading to an offer.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.