Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
Published in
1 min readSep 27, 2016

--

“Didn’t you ever want to be a part of something different? Something special?”

At any time in your life, have you ever felt like you wanted to be a part of something that you feel more than just comfortable but in an environment where you felt you were heard?

Well for me, I feel part of something that has been known for a more easily known epidemic that’s becoming more in the light to the world. And that something and epidemic is what many of us call the “Mental Health Awareness and Promotional Movement” – the name I just created, came up with myself. Being part of this movement really makes me feel less ashamed, less embarrassed and more vulnerable but also inspiring with having my mental health conditions.

It was a process for me. It took me time before I was fully able to say that I wasn’t ashamed of my illness/condition and that I had stopped letting my illness define who I am. Being in recovery from any mental illness, everyone in recovery and those supporting loved ones, friends and co-workers with mental illnesses; that they will be recovering for the rest of their lives.

“Recovery does not take a day off” – Demi Lovato

Another two that I’m happy and pretty confident with are creativity and optimism.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.