Dream Another Dream

No faith, no belief

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
Published in
3 min readApr 29, 2019

--

Well when it comes to dreams, I have had so many, I sure we all can say that “we’ve lost count” and I am here as one person to say that I’m 1000% certain and sure about my dream of pursuing a second career in mental health counselling: and here’s most of my reason:

I’ve been thinking tonight about those careers I’ve thought about pursuing since childhood: interior designer, teacher, lawyer.

But then before I came to realize with a wise mind in May 2016 of wanting to pursue a second career in mental health counselling to become a counsellor to help those just like myself heal and recover mental illness, addictions and eating disorders; years ago; I had this thought that I’d want to be just someone in a room where someone else would say these exact words to me or something similarly worded: “because of you, I didn’t give up”!

Those words: I’ve always wanted to be a representation or a symbol of hope! You know if you remember a previous happier moment last year where I discovered from watching an episode of The Flash on Netflix where he figured out that heroes have superpowers but not the way you think. Yes they still have fast speed, mind telepathy, mind reading, fly, etc; but the main one, is… hope! They make others believe there is good out there and that things do get better if we stick around.

And that for one more specific example, Supergirl/Kara Danvers said that she’s known for seeing the good in people even when they themselves are viewed as villains or those people you see ruining or taking over the world, like all those known like Livewire! I’ve never really shared this part of my dreams with anyone yet until now because I have faith and trust in the happier community!

But now I’m here thinking: with the current career I’ve studied for in college and pasted; well words say it all:

Well I’ve been thinking about how I’ve been procrastinating with tailoring my resume to one of the job ads I have saved on my Indeed account; more specifically the real work that is done for the job: the computer work (Microsoft/office programs and more) but the rest of the work: answering phones, photocopying and such.

I have down pat and enjoy with a passion! It’s just the first part I mentioned I’m not sold on still for when it comes to applying to this type of job (if and when I get a job offer and decide if this is the job I wanna work at least for 6–12 months to give it a full chance. I’m more wanting a career I’m more passionate about: it work where I’m doing the same things I did as a cool student at George Kennedy Public School; answering phones, photocopying, working in the library putting away books, helping teachers with photocopying jobs.

My passionate jobs are: the things I did at George Kennedy and my passion for pursuing a second career in school and in the real world of mental health counsellor to help those who have been through issues I’ve gone through: in the mental health/illness field! And I’m unsure of how to tell this to my parents! Any tips, advice?

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.