Expecting Perfection Rather Than Progress & Flaws

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

--

I may appear to be perfect because of my makeup being perfect at least on the outside but inside: no one can tell if I myself or anyone may actually be okay from what is visible from the outside. Which I’ll also add is not gonna be perfect! For me, I am someone who encourages myself and others to be more authentic online but also “in real life” too! Though it can be more challenging for some moments we all have or those that not everyone understands and relates to!

Wearing makeup can mean many different things. It can mean it’s used to cover up our acne, or to cover up the pain we feel; but than the self harm is normally used for that, yet also makeup can be used for hiding our shame and to hide or imperfections because we feel so shameful for not meeting society’s standards and in the end, hide them to conceal the real imperfections and rather flaws within ourselves!

So in reality here, how does this pattern or cycle or rather stigma be a logical thing to have in our society? To expect others to be perfect inside and out without any compassion, empathy, understanding, caring qualities to use in the real moments that in reality aren’t at all what we expect nor presume/assume people are.

Oh in the end result here, yes wearing makeup that makes our face and skin look perfect but it doesn’t represent the real truth and authentic identity of our reality! Stop assuming and presuming before you hear someone’s full story; then make your judgments but with kindness, care, compassion, and empathy! And try not to be so ignorant, immature, selfish and careless!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.