I’m Sweet But Psycho

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
2 min readAug 14, 2019

--

People believe that girls should wear makeup everywhere they go to hide their imperfections. But when it comes to me, I believe that if I’m confident, comfortable and happy in my own skin, there should be no reason at all in hiding it. We should embrace, flaunt our looks. Not hide them because others would reject us or maybe we wouldn’t fit in better with the world if we did. What you think of yourself should matter more than what others think of you. You also shouldn’t let what others think of you affect how you see yourself.

Wearing makeup hides who you really are and why should you hide that?

People have told me that I should wear makeup to prevent people from making bad comments about my natural look without it. Well guess what? I don’t care what they think of me. I only care about what I think of myself!

I’m a lot tougher than you think I am. I may be sensitive, short and other things, but I’m a lot of great things too! You may see me break down at times, but the rest of the times, I’m invincible, unbreakable, unstoppable, and more! I knew that myself for how much experience I’ve have with it.

I know where I am in my life at my age, I still have a lot to learn. But that’s part of life but putting that aside, there’s so much that I want to offer the world and I want to do that because I’m passionate about doing that. Pursuing my life purpose. Many people close to me have told me to give it up. Because they think I should focus on better and more productive things. But what’s more productive than pursuing your own life purpose? Think about it.

Parents protect their kids from a lot of things yet they never think that one day at the right age and time, they’ll have to let go. Because they will need to learn how to protect themselves on their own. Well my parents haven’t accepted that I will have to learn to protect myself on my own yet. They tell me that if I were in a situation where someone has a gun to my head or something like that, that I wouldn’t be able to handle it right. But my thoughts are: I’ve seen so many movies and tv shows like CSI, Criminal Minds, Hawaii Five-O and more.

And they have taught me there are many bad people (criminals) out there who I may not easily notice. But I got this. If I were in a situation and I had to figure out how I would protect myself from getting hurt by them, I would figure that soon enough before it’s too late… One day parents will have to accept that!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.