Life Is Short, Live It

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2018

Life can be hectic and crazy and out of control in its own ways, which can be hard and challenging to make the best out of this life. This one life, we only get to live it once, with this body we were given.

Though when we want something to change or see change in need, we can motivate ourselves by reminding ourselves of why we are doing it he how badly we want that change. I know I’ve used this method when it comes to earning the results I want. I did so with my mental health recovery.

I reminded myself of why I was doing it (aka: because I wanted things to change and to be able to experience things a human couldn’t during mental illness episodes) and how badly I wanted it along with imagining myself further into the future where I’m happier, confident, comfortable in my own skin, my goofy, positive and peaceful self, and so on.

Yeah it may be hard and challenging, which isn’t easy, but sure will be worthwhile. Time will show it’s worth and really benefit with all your hard work leading up to those beneficial moments where your work starts to pay off while you continue to make more improvements and progress on yourself throughout your recovery.

Recovery does not take a day off. ~ Demi Lovato

I have also used this method with making progress with my creative method with gaining control of my old habit of picking my nails. I had a bad habit for years and tried many methods but none really stuck. Until late September when I decided to work hard as my new job (at the time), moisturize daily and wear coloured nail polish to help gradually gain control of my habit.

That urge, was not an easy battle to fight. But it was worthwhile. It wasn’t until my birthday (late October) when I realized and noticed that I wasn’t picking my nails and also the fact that I didn’t feel that “urge” to pick my nails. Oh that feeling! Anyway, before that happened, I started this trial by painting my ugly and unhealthy super short nails with a colour but after felt it was useless as per how they looked with colour looking as they actually were.

But I imagined myself and my nails looking healthier within a month later and letting that be my guide and my motivation to continue with the trial and sticking to the method I had created. As I’ve already stated, it went well with great success and left me happier with the results of healthier looking nails, gaining control of my habit and that urge.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.