Live The Life You Love

“You don’t have to explain your dreams. They belong to you.” ~ Paulo Coelho

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2019

--

You know we all have dreams and some of us know the difference between fantasy and reality and even some of us know that some dreams may not be realistic in our world and generation. But there are those who know that regardless of the dreams that are told to be “unrealistic” choose to believe in their dreams anyway and do whatever small or big acts towards making them a reality; their reality! After all, it’s their life; no one should be controlled like a robot in their life in any way and to any degree.

And I am here to say that I’m one of those people that regardless of how people tell us that certain dreams we have are known by their kind of people as “unrealistic” we are stubborn and choose to not listen to what they believe and what they want us to believe. Like I said, it’s our life, we shouldn’t feel obligated or pressured or demanded to live our life a certain way; we aren’t robots! Which makes me think of a song, by Miley Cyrus, cakes: Robot ⬇️

It’s been like this from the start. One piece after another to make my heart. You mistake the game for being smart. Stand here, sell this, and hit your mark.

But the sound of the steel. And the crush, and the grind. It all screams, “Who am I to decide my life?” But in time it all dies. There’s nothing left inside. Just rusted metal that was never even mine.

I would scream. But I’m just this hollow shell. Waiting here. Begging, “Please, set me free so I can feel”

Hey. Stop trying to live my life for me. I need to breathe. I’m not your robot. Stop telling me I’m part of the big machine. I’m breaking free!

Chorus

Can’t you see? I can move, I can speak without somebody else operating me. You gave me eyes, and now I see. I’m not your robot, I’m just me!

All this time, I’ve been misled. There were nothing but crossed wires in my head. I’ve been taught to think that what I feel. Doesn’t matter at all ‘til you say it’s real!

I would scream. But I’m just this hollow shell. Waiting here. Begging, “Please, set me free so I can feel”

I would scream. But I’m just this hollow shell. Waiting here. Begging, “Please, set me free so I can feel”

Hey. Stop trying to live my life for me. I need to breathe. I’m not your robot. Stop telling me I’m part of the big machine. I’m breaking free

Can’t you see? I can move, I can speak without somebody else operating me. You gave me eyes, and now I see. I’m not your robot, I’m just me. I’m not your robot, I’m just me. (I’m not your robot)!

And from the lyrics from this song, I’m here now expressing creatively that we shouldn’t be expected to follow the rules like following the dress code of wearing only “black and white”!

For me I believe that I don’t wanna live a “black and white” life like many people already have for most of my life and I’m at a point in my life where I’d like that to stop and turn into something of my own!

“You are what you allow!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.