Out Of The Woods

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2018

Oh god, I gotta say I’m so truly and truthfully out of the woods. Though as per shown in Taylor Swift’s music video for “Out Of The Woods”, it states that she lost her boyfriend; particularly for me, I’ve never been in a romantic relationship with any lucky guy before. And though I may not be in a relationship even at this point in my life, I know that day is coming real soon. But in the meantime, I’m gonna continue doing all that makes me happy and all that makes me feel more alive than ever!

Because deep down, that’s what matters to me and what I am passionate about and what I want to pursue with my life. I wanna help through in the mental health community. And by that, I mean those suffering with mental illnesses, addictions and eating disorders. Yeah I may have been in their position and that is just one great yet important benefit with pursuing a career in mental health, but I have also gained a lot of insights, knowledge, wisdom and intelligence from all my experiences; and I cannot think of a better way to benefit from my experiences than turning my wounds into wisdom and my wisdom into a career!

What better way could someone like me who’s experienced mental illness first hand herself, vocal about mental health yet even also has a passion to make a difference in the world of mental health and mental illness, then to make it a career? I never thought that I would have experienced the things that I have up till now. I may not be living the kind of life I had ever expected to live for myself but I do know I’m grateful for all my experiences and all the choices and mistakes I’ve made because they brought me to be who I’ve become today and where I am in my life at this point.

And I will continue to look forward positively and optimistically into the future that I am creating for myself and using my past experiences as reminders of my mistakes, experiences and all that have lead to who I have become and where I am each and every day! I refuse to stay or focus on the past, because I believe my past is behind me and I’m looking and feeling hopeful towards a happier, healthier and optimistic life ahead!

Loneliness kills of the thrill from standing alone.

And I have noticed that I gradually worked towards small steps and results with not feeling as alone and lonely as I have been over the years. Because I’ve had enough experience with this quote: “what you give power to, can have power over you; if you let it”.

And so I’ve been continually choosing to be optimistic about my future and the life that I am creating for myself! And that no matter what life throws my way, I’ll have all the mental qualities to come out even stronger, wiser, happier and more confident in each moment!

Well, as much as I may wish and want to see myself living more than I am at the moment, I know I will get there with time, patience and all else! In the meantime, I’m gonna work on some other important areas of my life that I need to sort out and schedule in my schedule!

Happy me, happy day! Talk again soon!

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.