The Art Of Self Expression

Express oneself with no shame or stigma

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time
6 min readJul 20, 2017

--

It’s time to start exploring. Let yourself learn from experiences. Don’t deny or disagree with what happens experience wise. Just let it happen, open your eyes enough to see the lesson and figure out how you can come out of the experiences with strength and logical knowledge.

We all may find ourselves not liking the circumstances and things we experience in our lives but we have to come to the terms of accepting that we will get the things in our life we want just going down the long road that is challenging enough to make us stronger and wiser in the long run. If we keep ourselves in our comfort zone, nothing will change because we won’t challenge ourself to improve and better ourselves!

The more times you try to get ideas, the more active your brain becomes and the more creative you become.

Freedom can be so powerful yet to rewarding when you allow yourself to experience all you need to before you reach the point of absolute freedom. Freedom to be yourself especially with our shameful society.

The hard work and all else in the path to freedom is gonna be hard to dedicate and commit to but it will definitely be worth it, and trust me and all others who stand by this. It ma the hard and challenging, but not impossible! And yet also so worth it all in the long run! It will pay off with time, as long as you allow yourself to making the changes and challenging yourself!

I’ve been thinking over the past few months with starting to create my own art as a way of expression myself that also helps contribute to my mental health recovery.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve always wanted to express myself through art. Particularly with dance and later over the years, wanted to express myself through art as well. Though I gotta say that I’m at the basic level of skill when it comes to drawing. And by that I mean drawing stick people is where I’m at right now but intend to improve my skill and become more skilled in art.

Though when it comes to expressing myself freely especially while living in our shameful society, it’s been quite difficult for me. But it hasn’t stopped me nor made me lose hope in the chance of ever being hurt in any way and form that I choose.

To me, writing creatively and speaking my own mind without letting any amount of shame get in the way, has become more smooth, creative, optimistic and powerful than ever now that I’m taking more control that was already within my own self to make my own. It’s my life, and I intend on living it to the absolute fullest in which I plan on living by my own terms!

For so long I kept my feelings, thoughts, creative ideas, dreams and everything that ever meant something to me including my purpose that are especially close to my heart. For so long I felt like I didn’t matter which was in the responsibility or accountability of my parents. This came to me sometime last month when my sister and her boyfriend at the time was going to watch more episodes of “Shameless” on Netflix, meaning they were kicking me out and not once except one time that I kept letting them do that.

And when I came upstairs and one thing my mom said was that I matter or something like that, but honestly. I haven’t felt like I mattered as much as I deserved to feel. I just didn’t and it was so blind to me for so many years. Though I’m glad I’ve become aware of it when I did.

But from that, I want to turn this into a better experience for me. After all I only get to live one life, and I’m not gonna let that one life get wasted.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve found myself wanting and waiting for my parents to give me grace for those big moments which I did get minus for those small things which I wanted, but was lacking of from my parents.

And sometime this year (2017) I finally made the decision/choice to stop waiting for that day when my parents see the logic and knowledge on giving yourself and others grace for both small and big moments in one’s life and just focus on myself! Focus on giving myself grace because I deserve to and I have every right to!

The best way of expression myself is what I’ve been doing already over the months or year or two and what I’ll be doing in the near future! And I intend to put my everything into my work. Work of art! Like the lyrics below:

Everyday is like a blank canvas. You know you can paint it anyway you want it. You can draw black clouds, you can make the sun shine. Color in a rainbow, or use black and white. Open up your eyes and, your imagination.

Come on let’s write a song, a little poetry. Take a photograph, let’s make some memories. You can make it anything that you want it to be. If you follow your heart, life is a work of art.

Ooh every night’s like looking at a dark screen. You’re never too young or too old to dream. You can make your fantasy into a reality. Cause you’re creating your own masterpiece. Close your eyes and dream it, seeing is believing.

Come on let’s write a song, a little poetry. Take a photograph, let’s make some memories. You can make it anything that you want it to be. If you follow your heart, life is a work of art. Let’s write a song, a little poetry. Take a photograph, let’s make some memories. You can make it anything that you want it to be. If you follow your heart, life is a work of art.

Trying to simplify into philosophy. Turn the star into a galaxy. Make a little noise into a symphony.

You’re creating a masterpiece. Come on let’s write a song, a little poetry. Take a photograph, let’s make some memories. You can make it anything that you want it to be. If you follow your heart, life is a work of art. Come on let’s write a song, a little poetry. Take a photograph, let’s make some memories. You can make it anything that you want it to be. If you follow your heart, life is a work of art. Let’s write a song, a little poetry. Take a photograph, let’s make some memories.

This is my new and improved life and I hope you get inspired and encouraged to create a life of your own instead of living by the standards and expectations of society and the government. Some of the rules go against one’s own happiness. One thing that I’m saying here is that I don’t intend or mean to say that it’s okay to be a criminal and commit crimes of any kind, I just mean that we have every right to express ourselves freely however we want to.

We have freedom of speech and freedom of expression. Let’s not put that to waste.

--

--

Laura Annabelle
Our Creative Time

I’m just a young adult trying to figure out how to live her new adult life.