America Is Drunk on Racism

Our nation has a problem, and we need a sober commitment to racial equity to remedy it.

Walter Rhein
Our Human Family
Published in
8 min readAug 1, 2023

--

Uncredited cartoonist for Harper’s Weekly., Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

A year ago, I got news that a friend of mine, who was known for his partying, had given up drinking. Upon hearing this, it surprised me that of all the emotions I felt, I recall the distinct stab of jealousy.

“Why do I feel jealous?” I wondered. If I was living the life I wanted to live, why should I feel envious of a friend who had chosen sobriety?

But before I could make further progress, the familiar justifications for drinking rose up to divert me from the path of healthy self-reflection. “I need to be able to wind down in the evenings. I need a break every now and then. Drinking is a part of social settings. It’s just a few beers. I can quit whenever I want.”

My internal dialogue became increasingly hostile, as if I was mad at myself for even considering there was anything I needed to change.

I found myself asking why the idea of a self-evaluation provoked feelings of denial and anger? What was the mechanism at work that kept me off the path to progress and condemned me to a toxic lifestyle? More importantly, how was it possible to escape this mechanism?

--

--

Walter Rhein
Our Human Family

10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist. WalterRhein@gmail.com