I Wear a Scarf

But I am not different from humans

AK (Aaska Aejaz)
Our Human Family

--

Image Source: Unsplash, Photo by febri sym

I tell you about me, I do not have much to tell because I don’t have a huge introduction, nor am I a top mountain climber yet, but I guess I have enough to prove that even though I wear a headscarf, I am a human.

I am a Muslim girl and I wear a headscarf. My family used to like traveling, so I lived in a number of countries in this world, including Germany and Singapore. I experienced that they have different languages, colors, faiths, cultures, and lifestyles, but they also have the same judgmental thinking of Muslim people.

People often ask me why I wear a headscarf? Do they think I don’t have good hairs? Or am I bald? Oh, are you laughing at this question? It makes me laugh, too. But yes, it is true that people really ask me these types of questions on a daily basis.

In fact, many people assume that I have conservative thinking and they treat me with very rude behavior. Sometimes, when I go somewhere and they see me with a scarf, they don’t respond adequately to my good wishes. They even try to ignore me as best they can.

Firstly, I want to tell that I am not bald, nor I have bad hairs to hide. I have black silky long hairs and if truth be told I love my hairs! Secondly, I am not a conservative girl.

I am twenty-three years…

--

--

AK (Aaska Aejaz)
Our Human Family

Determined, Discoverer, Researcher, Achiever, Ist priority is humanity, Words are my life, Love is my attitude, I’m a peacemaker, and brave enough for helping!