Moral Bankruptcy Due to the Hidden Cost of Privilege

A lesson my daughter taught me out on the lake

Walter Rhein
Our Human Family
Published in
8 min readJun 21, 2023

--

Photo by Tower Paddle Boards on Unsplash

I’m fortunate to be the father of two compassionate daughters who often take time out of their busy schedules to teach me important life lessons.

On one occasion, we were out on the lake riding a stand-up paddleboard. Rather than stand, I prefer to sit on the board and propel it with a kayak paddle. My kids are getting close to being too big for this activity, but a few years back we were out on the water giggling and having fun.

My youngest daughter was swimming. My eldest daughter was just along for the ride. My youngest was bobbling along, splashing, and calling for me to come in, so I did.

That’s when disaster struck.

After I’d played around for a few minutes, I went to climb back onto the paddle board and accidentally capsized it. This sent my eldest daughter into the water.

“Dad! I said I didn’t want to swim!” she scolded me.

“I’m sorry,” I sputtered, “it was an accident.”

From my daughter’s face, I realized that wasn’t even close to good enough.

I didn’t recognize it then, but my daughter was about to expose a critical flaw in my thought process. When there’s no greater…

--

--

Walter Rhein
Our Human Family

I have 10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist.