When My Best Friend Was White

Relationships Transcending Race

William Spivey
Our Human Family
Published in
6 min readOct 13, 2023

--

Photo by Hassan Pasha on Unsplash

Thinking back, there were a few times when my best friend(s) were white. I grew up in Minneapolis, whose population was no greater than fifteen percent Black. The block I grew up on had a dozen kids close in age, most of them white.

During the summer, I burst out the back door at nine a.m. every morning and ran down the alley to go to Lyle's house. Lyle had a basketball hoop attached to his garage, he owned a soccer ball, whiffle ball, and plastic bat, and his mother always served Kool-Aid when it got hot. When it rained, we played baseball with Topps baseball cards and a deck that described every activity (fly out, ground out, double, home run, etc). I would compile statistics at home at night, keeping up with batting averages, earned run averages, and league leaders in home runs.

Lyle, Mark, and Danny were my best friends from first through sixth grade, though I also had Black friends, mainly from the church I attended across town. It wasn't uncommon for Black people to come from all parts of town and the suburbs to head to the Black parts of town to attend church on Sunday and then head back to their integrated neighborhood. Lyle, Mark, and Danny didn't attend Field Elementary, a predominantly white public school, like I did. They all went to different private schools. I didn't give it a…

--

--