general state of teens mental health

Anna N
Our Oakland Magazine
2 min readDec 8, 2022
Creative Commons licenses: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/
A face outline with words on it about the effects of mental health. Image by Paget Micheal Creelman. From wikipedia. CC BY-SA 4.0

According to the latest news, teens are suffering from mental health issues and need support with their mental health. Are you interested in knowing what has been affecting teens’ mental health? Keep reading to find out.

I have personally been through a lot of ups and downs with my mental health. School, and family has been the main reason for my mental health to go downhill. Being with friends, and my sister is what positively impacts my mental health. It actually works to help me cope with my emotions and distracts me from my problems. That is what inspired me to write about teens’ mental health.

I chose to interview these specific people because they were the only ones available during my interview time. I decided to ask these questions because I think it goes deep into what generally negatively/positively affects their mental health and what can improve it. Everyone basically gave me permission to use their name on the document. I don’t think they would respond differently if it was an anonymous survey because either way no one would know who wrote it. Since mine wasn’t anonymous, I knew who said what. Doing it in person can genuinely show me how it makes them feel.

The teens that I interviewed generally said that they have been feeling good because they surround themselves with good/genuine people. An example is when I interviewed Shania and Angie, they said they have been feeling good lately because of their friends and family that are there to support them.

Self deprecation has negatively affected most of these teens’ mental health. In my interview with Shania, Zoe said similar things which were putting themselves down like putting pressure on themselves, and comparing themselves to other people.

Teens doing things they enjoy can improve their mental health. Asher said reading, and exercising could help his mental health. Vanny and Fern said doing art is a way of improving their mental health.

Overall, from all the interviews I’ve done, teens mental health are both negatively/positively impacted. Certain kinds of teens improve their mental health differently. Asking clear questions helped me figure out what it was that really affected their mental health, and how they tried to improve it.

Tips that I recommend to improve your mental health is going to therapy, keeping your problems to yourself instead of putting it on others, be positive, stop comparing yourself, and focusing on beneficial stuff. They will help distract your mind from irrelevant and negative stuff.

--

--