Feedback from our beta batch

lostmy.name team
The making of lostmy.name book
2 min readJan 31, 2013

--

Just before xmas last year, we sent out our very first 100 books. Possibly the scariest thing I’ve ever done in my life. We’ve been in touch with our first customers and asked them to help us for their feedback so we can keep tweaking and make the book make even better

Here are some of the wonderful comments we’ve received:

“It made a great present for my sisters and their kids, and the first reading with my own kids was a lot of fun as they gradually figured what was going on... ”

“The illustrations were gorgeous with the little girl character being quite relatable. The concept of the girl finding each letter of her name was quite clever and my daughter caught on to it after the third letter which drove her to read further. Nice.”

“The book is lovely - beautifully illustrated and laid out with a lovely attention to detail. The only slight niggle - I'm a little protective of the book - due to the nature of the printed paper it marks quite easily.
The love and care is evident in the created product - thank you for making this ;)”

“Emily (aged 4 years 4 months) really loves her book. She doesn't understand (as I do) how clever it is to be able to make a book on-demand for any child's name. She doesn't wonder (as I do) what happens if your child's name has 3 'e's in it. I'm not even sure if she yet fully realises that there are other people called Emily who would get the same book. Or that when I get one for her sister Ellie, it will have some of the same stories but also some different ones. (I think she'll like that actually.) She just knows it's got her name in it, which she loves.She really likes words, so she's enjoying hearing Daddy say new and weird ones like 'existential'. She also seems to enjoy the pictures - they have a dark style unlike any other of her books, and she's just starting to enjoy being slightly scared, so that appeals to her. The only other thing I want to say is thank you. This is clearly a labour of love for you, and I appreciate it very much.”

--

--