Patsy Mokungah
Our Pastiche
Published in
4 min readJul 16, 2019

--

Affordable Skincare || Nuage Micellar Cleansing Water Review

Nuage Micellar Cleansing water

I am back with another affordable skincare review and I’m really happy about this. In this post I will be reviewing the Nuage Micellar Cleansing Water with Aloe vera, Vitamin E and Chamomile Flower Extract. I stumbled upon this product during a skincare product haul sometime last year. I didn’t really have any specific brands in mind; I just knew the products I needed. I wanted a cleanser and I had seen the Garnier Micellar cleansing water with Sike and I had that somewhere in the back of my mind to be gotten in the future, so when I saw Micellar Cleansing water on the bottle, I thought why not just try this? I am presently happy I did.

What is Micellar Cleansing water?

Okay before we get into the main, in case you are a newbie like I once was, let me tell you what Micellar water is. It’s really much simpler than it sounds in that Micellar water is water with micelles in it. Yes just that, but I see you looking at me with side eye so let me say what micelles are. They are tiny balls of oil which are attracted to dirt and yes, oil too. They have the ability to breakdown and pull this dirt and oil out of your skin. They also have moisturizing properties.

Now you know what micellar water is, let’s get down to business.

Product Description

The product comes in a sizable bottle. The bottle I got is 200ml. it is transparent with a cap that has a hole for dispensing the product and snaps shut. I never had any problems with unnecessary spillage throughout use although I package products specially when I travel as to avoid such. I like the basic packaging (probably because it has pink accents, lol).

The product has all ingredients listed at the back, alongside directions for use and other important information.

The product itself, just like its name looks very much like water. It is also like water in terms of consistency. I like the way the bottle dispenses, the hole isn’t too big or small so it controls the product well when dispensing.

The product claims to be free from parabens, colors and perfume which is all good news to me and should be to anyone who has sensitive skin. Speaking of sensitive skin, micellar water is alcohol free and popularly regarded as being gentle so hurray!

How I use this product

While micellar water can be used as a cleanser, I use it as a makeup remover (it still cleanses anyway). When I want to take off my makeup, I pre-cleanse with coconut oil and wipes then go in with the micellar water on a cotton pad and just swipe across my face.

One mistake I made when I first started to use this product was that I would swipe harshly on my face, because in my mind I was trying to get the dirt off effectively. All I got out of that was inflammation and nothing else honestly cause there’s no need. Swipe gently and let the product do its work.

I do not rinse off afterwards (except I’m taking off my makup and getting straight into my nighttime routine where I would supplement with a wash} because there’s no need to. That is another big advantage of micellar water.

Performance

This product performed well, very well actually. The first time I used it I was just like ‘why am I just trying this out for the first time?’. It really takes the dirt and oil off and leaves my skin not feeling dry at all.

The one negative thing for me might have been that although the product claims that there would be no tingling effect, I do have tingling and even a very light burning sensation when I use the product. It doesn’t last for more than a few second though and leaves no adverse side effects and I’ve been using this product for months now. So I think that’s okay. Plus I have really sensitive skin so if you don’t have skin like mine, you should be just fine.

Will I repurchase? Yes ke. I’m ordering ASAP. It’s pocket friendly too.

Pricing

This is such an upside for this product. I purchased in in shoprite for about N1000 that year which I thought was a complete steal. In some stores it retails for less. However the prices I am seeing online now… hmmmn. Also, it is quite available. Although I am yet to find it in my city (Jos) while I was in Abuja it was in a lot of the stores, of which many have branches in a lot of states. If that doesn’t work, there is the internet. You can purchase it here or search online for other places to buy online.

Have you tried using the product already, what did you thin?

Are you going to try out this product?

--

--