Bio-balance Sun Protection Facial Cream SPF 50+ Review

Sike Gbana
Our Pastiche
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2020

--

I am a huge advocate for wearing of sunscreen and if you don’t know why you should wear sunscreen every single day (yes, even when it’s raining) then you need to read my detailed post answering all your sunscreen questions.

While I was hunting for a new sunscreen last year, I came across Biobalance Expert Sun Care Water-Resistant Sun Protection Facial Cream (Broad Spectrum SPF 50+) and I had to try it out.

What does the brand say?

Ultra light Sun Protection formula contains advanced UVA and UVB photo-stable filters, vitamins and herbal extracts to protect skin against sun damage, sun-induced pigmentation marks and premature wrinkle formation.

Packaging and ingredients

The first thing that caught my attention was the plain white packaging with mainly orange and yellow accents on the box that encased the tube of sunscreen giving it a very classy look. The box had all the information about the sunscreen including note-worthy ingredients like photostable uva-uvb filters, niacinamide, centella asiatica extract. rosmarinus officinalis leaf extract, vitis vinifera seed extract, panthenol, shea butter. allantoin, vitamin E. I am a sucker for niacinamide and centella asiatica so I was SOLD.

The sunscreen also claimed to be free from parabens, phytalates, petroleum jelly, paraffin, dye, SLS, SLES and DEA, MEA. The actual tube had the same look as the box and has a screw on cap. The opening that dispenses the product is not too big which I appreciate because I have better control on how much product I dispense.

Even though I loved the look of the box that this sunscreen came in, I was almost disappointed when I realized the size of the tube inside, I think it was way too big for the 75ml tube it contained.

How to use

Apply 15 minutes before being in the sun. Apply evenly and generously. Small quantities reduce the extent of protection. Reapply frequently and always after swimming, perspiring or towelling. It is ideal for using under make-up.

My experience and thoughts

The consistency of the product is creamy, like a lotion but it does not feel greasy or heavy on my oily skin. The sunscreen looks white when applied to skin and becomes clear when it is blended into the skin. It does take a few seconds to blend into my skin-tone and it leaves no white cast. My skin feels supple after using this sunscreen because it doubles as a moisturizer.

This has become my go-to everyday sunscreen for my face, neck, chest and décolletage; I also use it on the back of my hands. It works great under makeup as well. I did notice once that when I sweat a lot while wearing this sunscreen, it starts to look a little gray around the perimeters of my face and above my lip and @skinificent said it happens to her as well.

Do I recommend this product?

Yes I do. It looks amazing under makeup and it doubles as a face moisturizer; it also its great antioxidant ingredients and humectants.

Where can I buy this sunscreen?

I purchased mine at Shoprite in Abuja for N2500 and you can find it at their outlets across the country within the price range I purchased mine.

What’s your current sunscreen? I would love to know in the comments.

Keep up with us on Instagram: @sikegbana @ourpastiche

See you in my next post. Xoxo.

--

--

Sike Gbana
Our Pastiche

I am lawyer cum blogger and content creator on IG @sikegbana and co-own @ourpastiche a brand that seeks to educate about all things beauty