Sike Gbana
Our Pastiche
Published in
5 min readJul 9, 2019

--

My natural hair has become a part of my identity for the last few years; for that reason I have to pay it just as much attention as I give my skin. Over the last month or so, my hair has been privileged to enjoy natural luxury from the awesome products I received from the brand Desire Natural Luxury and I wanna share all the deets with you.

Desire Natural Luxury is an online natural skincare and haircare brand owned by a young Nigerian blogger, Ekewuba Chibuzor who started the brand because of her love for beauty and the struggles she faced when she first started her natural hair journey. All their products are made used 80% locally sourced natural ingredients to promote healthy hair and skin. Their hair products are created to cater to those healing with hair loss, hair damage and many other hair challenges. Their goal is to bridge the gap for safe care and skin care products in Nigeria and to encourage women in Nigeria to celebrate and enjoy the natural characteristics of their kinky coily hair texture as well as their melanin skin.

The brand currently has 9 products and I received 5 of those products. I will be sharing my honest opinion on them below.

1. Cleansing Shampoo

This is a sulphate free shampoo packed with the goodness of coconut oil, argan oil, basil leaf oil, hibiscus seed extract, pink grapefruit peel oil, pepper mint oil and other ingredients. Personally, it was a breath of fresh air to have a shampoo without black soap in it as I believe my scalp hates African black soap (sobs). The shampoo has a runny consistency and it lathers well; it also has a strong “candy” smell that wears off pretty fast. My hair did not feel dry after using this shampoo and I know it is because it has a lot of moisturising ingredients in it. My scalp is quite sensitive and so far, it has not flared up after using this shampoo twice so that’s a big plus for me. Price: N1500.

2. Coconut and Argan Deep Conditioner

This product is meant to be applied to clean damp hair for 15–30 minutes before rinsing off but I usually leave it for way longer because my hair loves the mix of argan oil, coconut milk, chebe powder, rosemary oil and peppermint oil it contains. This product is a thick cream conditioner which is best for my high porosity hair; it also has a strong “sweet” smell that lingers (in a good way) in the hair even after washing off. My hair detangles quite easily after I apply this deep conditioner to it though it does not have too much slip. My hair feels so moisturised and healthy after I use this product. Price: N3000.

3. Leave In Nourisher

This leave in conditioner is meant to be hydrate, detangle and nourish the hair; it is also silicone free. It contains argan oil, glycerine, coconut water, coconut milk, biotin, hydrolyzed wheat protein, etc. The consistency of this product is runny, similar to the shampoo and my hair feels very hydrated after using it. It also smells very much like candy and it’s a strong smell that wears off a few minutes after application. Price: N1500.

4. Conditioning Hair Butter

This product acts as a sealant and it contains shea butter, cocoa butter, mango butter, olive oil, avocado oil, jojoba oil and other goodies. This hair butter is well whipped and aerated so it melts into an oil when rubbed between the palms of my hands. I use this butter as a last step on my hair before styling and it definitely keeps the moisture in my hair follicles. Price: N1500.

5. Hair Growth Oil

This powerhouse oil blend contains amla oil, babassu oil, patchouli, vitamin b oil, castor oil, lemon oil, cedarwood oil, neem oil, marula oil, etc. I am very picky with the oils I apply to my scalp because most oils make the dandruff situation worse but so far, this oil blend has been amazing for my scalp. I personally do not like the applicator of this oil so I pour it in a different applicator bottle that accesses my scalp better. Price: N2500.

Final thoughts

I absolutely love the products in the range and if I had to pick favorites, I would choose the deep conditioner and hair growth oil; this doesn’t mean the other products are not amazing though. I also like the packaging of each product except the hair growth oil which I wish had a better applicator. The smell of the shampoo and leave in conditioner are kind of strong for my personal taste but since they wear off after a while, I don’t mind. After my last wash day with these products, I went out, hugged a few friends and two of them said I smell nice; I had to tell them that it was my hair that smelled so delicious. Bae also thought my hair smelled great several days after applying these products.

My hair felt moisturized for days after applying these products

I would recommend these products to anyone just starting out their healthy hair journey and needs affordable good quality products or even a seasoned healthy hair veteran in need of new options. These products definitely work for all hair types, whether natural or relaxed.

You can watch a video of me using these products on my Instagram page.

Lastly, I would like to thank Desire Natural Luxury for gifting me their products and also The Bloggers Advocate for making this collaboration possible. You should totally check them out on Instagram.

I hope you enjoyed learning about this awesome Nigerian brand. Which of these products will you like to try? Leave a comment for me

These products were gifted to me but all thoughts shared are my honest opinions based on what I experienced.

He was like God in every way, but he did not think that his being equal with God was something to use for his own benefit.

Philippians 2:6 ERV

--

--

Sike Gbana
Our Pastiche

I am lawyer cum blogger and content creator on IG @sikegbana and co-own @ourpastiche a brand that seeks to educate about all things beauty