Review: Beauty Formulas Activated Charcoal Scrub

Sike Gbana
Our Pastiche
Published in
3 min readJul 9, 2019

I have totally been into skincare lately. I’m going to be reviewing a charcoal scrub today and it’s really affordable so that’s cool. Activated charcoal has been a recent skincare rave and it is fantastic at drawing out impurities and unclogging pores.

I purchased the activated charcoal scrub at Invivo beauty in Ceddi Plaza Abuja for about N1200 or less. The product claims to be an effective scrub infused with activated charcoal that has magnet-like abilities to draw out impurities and has micro ground apricot seeds that help exfoliate the skin. It is designed to deeply cleanse leaving the face feeling fresher and healthier. This scrub is only meant to be used once or twice weekly.

So far, this is my second tube of this product in less than a year. Why? Because my mum used it once, told her sisters and they all helped with my first tube lol. They all use this scrub now, all 5 of them(and some of their daughters), that’s how much they love it. Personally, I was not wowed by the scrub at first because I felt like the apricot seeds were too ground to effectively exfoliate. I have learnt that scrubs that are too abrasive cause micro-cuts in the skin that worsens skin problems so finely ground seeds are good. Also, I realised that my skin feels smoother and looks more radiant after I use this scrub. It does not leave the face feeling dry or bruised which is a plus. I scrub my face after washing my face with soap and my konjac sponge.

For the price, I think this product is a steal. I also love the packaging and the fact that the scrub is actually gray lol. I see myself repurchasing this and I definitely recommend it to someone who want to get into skincare but doesn’t want to spend too much money. I want to try chemical exfoliation soon. Wish me luck.

What’s your favorite facial or body scrub? Let’s talk in the comment section.

I hope you enjoyed my review. See you in the next post. Xoxo.

We love because God first loved us.

1 John 4:19 ERV

Update on June 5th 2020

I no longer recommend this scrub. Why? Even though the apricot seeds which are the abrasive in this product are well ground, I now know that apricot seed is generally too harsh for your facial skin and is best avoided. I still own a tube of the scrub and I use it on my body instead and when it finishes, I will not be repurchasing.

--

--

Sike Gbana
Our Pastiche

I am lawyer cum blogger and content creator on IG @sikegbana and co-own @ourpastiche a brand that seeks to educate about all things beauty