Patsy Mokungah
Our Pastiche
Published in
4 min readMay 21, 2020

--

SKINCARE REVIEW || CETAPHIL MOISTURISING LOTION

Cetaphil is a gentle skincare brand which very popular in the world of skincare. Chances are that if you are into skincare you would be aware of their existence. In line with their popularity, they have a good variety of products that are widely available. In this post I will be reviewing a product from their brand; the Cetaphil moisturizing lotion.

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION

The product is a body and face moisturizer which claims to be suitable for all skin types. It also claims to be lightweight, give 24 hour hydration, and contain 6 moisturizers and Vitamin E and B5. Other claims made by the product are stated at the back of the bottle, along with the ingredient list and directions for use.

This particular product comes in different sizes. I got the 473ml bottle which is pretty sizable and lasted me quite a while. The particular one I got comes in a bottle with a pump. The fact that the packaging is a bottle made me very happy because when it comes to skincare, packaging matters a lot, both for preservation and functionality. I found the pump dispenser to be very functional. Also, the fact that the bottle uses a pump is very good for hygiene purposes.

Mainly due to the size of the bottle I got, I cannot say that the product is ideal for traveling, cetaphil however stocks travel sized options. The only thing travel worthy of this particular packaging is that the pump dispenser can be locked to avoid spillage.

The product itself is a cream which is white in color. The product is fragrance free which is a plus for me in any skincare given that fragrance has a high possibility of being an irritant. The cream is not the most lightweight cream I have encountered if I am to be completely honest, but it is not too heavy either.

How I use this product

I incorporated this product into both my nighttime and daytime skincare routine as a face moisturizer, in the mornings it was my last step before my sunscreen and at night it was simply my last step. I apply it with my hands and simply pat it into my skin.

Performance

One thing I found hard to deal with with this product was the fact that it took forever to sink into my skin. I had to spend time trying to work it into my skin and if I didn’t it would just sit on top like a mask. I didn’t like this in the least.

It functioned well as a moisturizer and that was it. I find this to be a little bit of a letdown with this product. The truth is that going by the formulation of ingredients in this product; one shouldn’t expect anything beyond basic moisturizing. It has a very simple formula; this may be due to the fact that the brand as a whole is a gentle skincare brand and they probably wanted to give a product that will in no way irritate the skin. So, if what you are looking for is a moisturizer that would in no way irritate your skin, this will be a good buy because of how basic the formulation is. However, I feel like they could be doing more for the skin, especially considering the price point. Although it is an affordable brand, there are substitutes that could easily do more for your skin.

If you are looking for a moisturizer with active ingredients that would help you solve a skincare issue or reach a skincare goal, this is not the one for you.

Will I repurchase? No, the formula is too basic for me. I need more from a moisturizer honestly.

Pricing

This product retails for anything between N6000 and N9000 depending on where you buy it.

It’s a very popular product so a lot of skincare stores stock it. It’s also available in most online stores.

Have you tried this product, did you love it?

Will you be trying this product?

--

--