As The World Turns

Annelise Lords
Our Souls in Words
Published in
3 min readNov 29, 2023

--

I noticed that the clouds were moving fast.

Image by Annelise Lords

I love to think. I am an overthinker too. Sitting at Whole Foods outside section in Florida on a dreary Monday evening, my eyes shifted to the sky after several short bouts of rain. I do love the rain, because it cleanses the earth, bringing forth new life. I noticed that the clouds were moving fast. I grabbed my phone and started to video, wondering out loudly, “Why the hurry. Where were these clouds going?”

One of my sons on his laptop computer nearby, glanced up at me watching me videoing the clouds moving. He smiled nodding, listening to me wondering out loud why the clouds were moving so fast.

Then he said after I was finished, “it’s not the clouds moving mom, it’s the Earth.”

“Say what!” slipped from my childish/adult curious mind in shock. I should know this. Heck, I do know, I just wasn’t aware enough to think about it. I have watched the clouds moving for years, but it wasn’t enough to spark my curiosity.

Maybe it’s because I am getting old, plus I have the time and brain space.

“Didn’t you say that you have more things in your head that you need to get out than what to put in?” My instincts remind me.

“Ok,” I relented. “I have the time and was writing under one of my inspirational, imaginative spells.”

--

--