The loss of the classic car

Valentina A
Our Voice
Published in
3 min readFeb 18, 2023
Mercedes-Benz 300SL Gullwing, retrieved form mercedes.com

In February 1954, Mercedes-Benz launched the 300SL Gullwing in New York. Thanks to Mr. Rudolf Uhlehaut, the automotive engineer for this car, we now have this beautiful classic made over 65 years ago!

What first caught my attention about this car were its main features. These include a trunk on the back for extra wheels and, of course, doors that open upward like a bird! Today this classic car is worth $1.15 million USD. Honestly, I love this car. The lines, the red interior, the two seats, the big steering wheel, and the perfect size, make this car my favorite. So why is it out of production? Mercedes should go back to these designs rather than attempt new ones, like the concept car shown here. New concept cars will probably make classic cars extinct and they will soon evolve so much that they might not even be what we recognize as cars anymore.

Mercedes-Benz Silver Lightning

The 21st Century fail

Kids in this century won’t be able to drive since in a few years we will only see self-driven cars. Driving is COOL! I want to do it when I grow up! I don’t want to miss out on the joy of driving. I’m afraid I will not be able to drive in 8 years due to these new technologies. Especially since cars are one of the main contributors to global warming.

I would never know what it's like to control the speed and go as fast as I’d like. I would miss out on the experience of keeping my eyes open for a very long time. I would miss out on what it would be like to speed on an orange light. I would miss out on speeding when I’m going late. I would not be able to drift all the way to WORK! There are so many experiences and problems I would never be able to live through and talk about with others.

Will race car drivers even exist? Will a whole new sport arise? Maybe riding self-driven cars like skateboards or a sport of computers, to see which car would go faster.

The classic come-back

Classic cars are very beautiful and we should go back to those types of designs. These designs work very well. Cars now break down easier, that is what mechanics want! We should keep those sweet wings because they’re fun, modern, handy, and beautiful! It looks like a bird spreading its wings for flight.

I find this new concept design unlikeable, there is no cover from the rain, there are no wings, and it doesn’t even look like it has doors. It doesn’t even look like it has windows. There is no contrast because it is all grey. As opposed to the contrast in the Gullwing, where the interiors are bright red. The wheels on the futuristic concept car don’t look like they can roll. The classic version has gills on the sides, which make it look like it can breathe. The bright stripes on the futuristic version attempt to make it look cool but they are simply invisible. Where is the trunk? Is it fully functional?

Though the classic car may not be up to date with today’s safety standards, it should be an inspiration for new designs. These cars should be affordable for everybody just like smartphones. WE NEED A PRETTIER WORLD! Why can’t we have a classic design with a modern twist? Good design should be for everyone.

--

--