The Storm

Mohseena Hussain
Our Voice
Published in
5 min readMar 22, 2024

By Aki Ishihara

Sandy Cove, a small seaside town, was well-known for its peaceful environment and quiet beaches. But on this specific day, a storm was approaching, posing a threat to the peace and tranquillity the town was used to. The wind was picking up, and dark clouds were gathering in the sky. The claps of thunder were muttering ominous warnings. The people scrambled to board up their windows and usher children to the safety of their homes.

While the townspeople were preparing for the storm, Lily was pacing around her house, worried sick for her daughter, who had gone to sea on a fishing trip.
“Martin, what are we going to do? Illia is missing; what if she couldn’t can’t reach here in time and got gets swept up by the waves? Oh, I shouldn’t have let her go!”

“Lily, we should wait until the storm passes to search for her; going out now will just put us both in danger. Just have faith in Illia that she’ll come back to us.”

The two anxious parents sat at the table and prayed for their daughter’s safety while the storm’s thunderclaps got louder and closer.

Illia struggled to keep the engine on, but it sputtered and broke down, leaving her stranded with the raging waves in the sea. The small fishing boat rocked on its side and threatened to tip over, so Illia gripped the edges tightly until her knuckles turned white. The pouring rain made it hard for her to see, and it was as if she was stuck in a grey mist, alone with no way out.
“Why did I go fishing all by myself on a day like this? I had no idea this would happen. My naive, stupid thoughts got to me, and I told myself I could handle a trip alone when I’m nothing more than an amateur.” Illia screamed as loud as she could, but it got lost in the storm. She remembered her dear parents at home, probably worrying themselves sick, and felt even more hopeless. She looked up at the sky, the raindrops sliding down her forehead, surveying the endless grey, when she saw a small, yellow light in the distance.
“Why hadn’t I thought of that? The light must be a lighthouse!” Now filled with hope, Illlia snatched the paddle and pushed against the waves with all her strength. One, two, one, two. Her arms ached and longed for respite, but Illia knew if she stopped, she might be stranded in this ocean forever.

The light became closer and closer, and Illia’s hope soared with each heave of the paddle. When finally she could see the entire structure, she used the last of her remaining strength to climb onto the jagged rocks nearby. She anchored the boat and then dropped to her back, spreading her arms. “I am safe now.” She was safe now.

The lighthouse’s bright light cast a shadow upon washed over her, and she took a deep breath she had been holding in, allowing a moment of rest.

Once lllia was ready, she climbed the rocky stairs steps to the lighthouse entrance.

She opened the heavy metal door and cautiously stuck her head in.

“Hello? Is anyone there?” Her voice echoed into darkness. The lanterns lit the winding staircase, which Illia began to climb with vigilance. It seemed as if the stairs would never end, but to her surprise, she had climbed to the top, where there was a large wooden door.

“Excuse me? Is anyone here?” The door creaked open to reveal a dimly lit, dingy room. Illia stepped inside cautiously, shivering from the cold. The lighthouse keeper, an elderly man, eyed her with suspicion.

“What is a little girl like you doing somewhere like this?” His words were sharp, and his towering statue caused lllia to look down in fear. It was unusual that someone who operated a lighthouse, the purpose of which was to provide safety to those struggling at sea, might have such an inhospitable disposition.

“I-I was fishing in the sea but got caught in the sea and found this lighthouse. I’m from Sandy Cove. May I stay here until the storm passes?”

The man sighed, and for a moment, Illia feared she would not be let allowed in, but to her surprise, he nodded and let her inside. It was small, with only a tiny kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. He handed warm towels and a change of clothes.

Though the old man was gruff, Illia felt safe and grateful for the refuge. Once warm and dry, she sat down at the fireplace, where the lighthouse keeper brought warm tea and pulled over a chair for himself. He introduced himself as Reynolds, a former sailor. Though initially apprehensive, he quickly grew at ease with Illia’s warm demeanor. Reynolds told tales of his sailing adventures, and Illia listened intently, creating a comfortable atmosphere inside the lighthouse.

He laughed heartily.

“Illia, I haven’t talked so much in years! Not since my grandson was still here.” He quickly grew quiet, his face dropping.

“May I ask who is your grandson?”

He sighed and rubbed his temples.

“Well, no sense in keeping it to myself. My grandson, Dairson, used to live here with me because his parents had both passed in a sailing accident. We were happy, but Dairson wanted to be a sailor like me. One day, he told me, ‘I’m going to sail by myself to Sandy Cove. it’ll be fun!’ Knowing how much he wanted to try, I let him go. But it was a mistake to think he was ready for that. There was a big storm after I said goodbye to him before he left on that trip. He left, and after I said goodbye, there was a big storm. Bigger than the one of today, one that rips through houses and floods the villages. He never came home, and I’ve been living alone ever since.”

Illia thought back to her adventure today. She could have ended up like Dairson if this lighthouse wasn’t here. She held Reynolds’ hands and tried to comfort him.

“Though you couldn’t rescue your grandson, you rescued me today, and I am incredibly grateful. This lighthouse is a beacon of safety and refuge, and you are so, so kind.”

Reynolds smiled.

“You are a nice girl, Illia. Keep going with your dreams. Your parents must be distraught, so after the storm passes, I will send you back to your home. For now, we shall have dinner.”

For the rest of the evening, they ate dinner and rested inside the comforts of the home. Illia had thought of giving up on her sailing dream when stranded in the ocean, but with Reynolds’ kind words and magical tales, her heart was bursting, aching to feel the ocean breeze again.

When the storm had passed, the two exchanged heartfelt goodbyes, and Illia went on her way, taking with her a heart full of respect for the old man and the sea and a dream to become a sailor.

On the way back to Sandy Cove, the wind was soft, and the blue ocean stretched endlessly around her, but this time, instead of a desperate feeling, she felt pure joy in the at sea.

--

--